PS3 Net Server question

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by karim-psx, Dec 25, 2018.

  1. 8
    0
    30
    karim-psx

    karim-psx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hi there,

    I would like to stream games to my CFW PS3 via an Android TV box which also doubles as an OpenWRT with HDD and NAS capabilities and negate the use of a computer. Is ther any chance to run PS3 NET server or any other way to stream games off the network?

    Thank you,
     
  2. 7,851
    6,551
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,851
    Likes Received:
    6,551
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    It should be doable in theory afaik but you might need to recompile the ps3netsrv code to run on your box. I don't recall any "ready to use" binaries for your setup but check in _Projects_/ps3netsrv/bins/old folder of the wMM repository (https://github.com/aldostools/webMAN-MOD) you will find binaries for various NAS & for raspberry pi that were compiled for similar purposes.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2018
    karim-psx and fresh like this.
  3. 91
    26
    37
    fresh

    fresh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Hi!

    Would be nice to have more infos about the type and the hardware of the A-Box.
    You've to know what cpu is used. RISC, MIPS, etc. pp...

    Greets
     
    karim-psx likes this.
  4. 8
    0
    30
    karim-psx

    karim-psx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I have an android TV Box with an ARM based realtek RTD1295 which doubles as an OpenWRT ready SoC and has a SATA I/O interface. It's got Android 6.0.1 a Gigabyte ethernet and wireless AC. It's a perfect low poer NAS device and pretty cheap for what it does actually.

    I'm not a coder but I can follow some instructions to compile and run the NetServer on my device.

    Thank you :)
     
  5. 91
    26
    37
    fresh

    fresh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    37
    I read your hw-sw-config and searched the net for more infos and found impressive devices with e.g. 3gb ram. An upper class than the standard plastic wlan routers...

    Is your device with all the services permanently at 100% cpu-usage?
    Sorry. :D

    Okay, ARM is not really my business. For time to time i compile arm-firmware, but that's it.

    As i remember the ps3-netserver should compile at every platform without errors. If you want a working log-file-service, you have to fix the source code due to the fact it doesn't flush the buffers... o_O

    Greets.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  6. 8
    0
    30
    karim-psx

    karim-psx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks for the (brilliant!) reply. To be honest, I'm a complete noob when it comes to compiling stuff.

    Can you please just tell me the steps (not in tiny details)

    Thanks again
     
  7. 1,351
    911
    197
    psykosis

    psykosis Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    911
    Trophy Points:
    197
    I know when I was looking for mac options, I saw a linux variant of it in the ps3netserv code.
    I believe there are a couple githubs for ps3netserv
     
  8. 91
    26
    37
    fresh

    fresh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Hi!

    It works like any other linux distribution. You've to install the build-tools and have to look for dependencies.
    There are many Howto's in the net.

    Greets.
     
  9. 1,362
    732
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    732
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    I'd like to have it running on the TP-Link TL-WR902ACv3 as well! ;)

    Target ramips/MT76x8 (mipsel24kc)

    Any more tips?
     

Share This Page