Questions on PS3 CFW...

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by ReddMcKnight, Nov 24, 2017.

  1. 41
    5
    37
    ReddMcKnight

    ReddMcKnight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    I'm VERY new to PS3 CFW. Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

    1. I see many different tutorials regarding PS2 on PS3 as far as PS3 CFW goes, and many of them appear to be outdated. That said, do I NEED reactPSN, and if yes, what exactly do I do with it? Also, do I just put in a PS2 Disc to install the game as an ISO?

    2. I don't plan to sign-in to PSN on the PS3 now that it's on CFW, but I'd like to keep it connected to the internet. What steps should I take to prevent updates?

    3. I see all this talk about placing PS3 Games on dev/hdd and the like. How exactly am I supposed to do that?
     
  2. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    Install rebug if your not on it , install a back up manager via USB pkg file via homebrew section multiman install put your game disc in locate the game in multiman press triangle save to devhddo press x and it will take a bit but it will copy automatically when finished press square take disk out and restart ps3 go multiman and select
     
  3. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    Are you on cex or dex ?
     
  4. 1,175
    332
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    1.use iso's with backup manager or best solution in my opinion is webman and iso's on your internal hdd.you must tell first how would you like to launch them,and if you're using already a backup manager like multiman and if you would like to continue to use it etc.

    2.just uncheck sign in automatically.automatic updates is PSN + feature,ps3 will never update itself if you're not signin in automatically and using psn+

    3.by ftp and/or transfering it via external ntfs drive.if you're connecting ps3 to internet via ethernet cable and same router/switch as your PC you just need filezilla and ip adress of your ps3 (you could see it under settings - about).you just launch filezilla and type adress of your ps3 as host,no password,just 21 as name of the port and click quickconnect and vola,you connected your ps3 internal hdd directly to your PC with connection of about 15 mb/s.it works wia wlan also but transfer speeds are about 3-4 mb/s,so if you're transfering big files like ps3 isos and game folders,it's not very practical.

    in my opinion most practical way is to get 500gb external nfts singlepartition usb3 hdd and store ps3 and ps1 iso's directly to them,backup savegames to small inexpensive 4/8gb slow usb thumbstick (i use some ancient 8gb one just for savegames and various tools for ps3).converting gamefolder backups to iso's is indeed a grueling task,i know,i did it myself,but yo u have a archive of your favourite games backuped always and you could format and restore your ps3 at all times with minimal sacrifices to your playing.

    sadly,there is no way to launch ps2 iso's directly from external ntfs hdd that i know of,so i just ftp them to internal hdd.
     
  5. 41
    5
    37
    ReddMcKnight

    ReddMcKnight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    I'm assuming CEX, since that's what it told me to install on the Rebug Site. In any case, I tried what you said, and it just boots me back to XMB when I select the ISO.

    I'm currently using Multiman, but I could work with anything. What should I do?
     
  6. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    lol.
     
  7. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
     
  8. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    Convert to dex via rebug toolbox, enable cobra and webman in rebug toolbox once on dex then your in a better position to do more
     
  9. 1,175
    332
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    i would try first with latest rebug,do a full system restore via recovery menu,install rebug toolbox form package manager,turn on cobra and internal webman.if after full system restore webman is still present,you must reflash rebug again to completely remove it and to be able to enable internal one which works best in my opinion.

    connect ps3 via same router/switch with lan cable and use filezilla to transfer iso's to internal hdd (just make PS2ISO folder and put them there).

    open webman setup,refresh xml and restart and you should be able to launch them directly from xmb via webman.
     
  10. 41
    5
    37
    ReddMcKnight

    ReddMcKnight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    That took care of it! Thanks! :D
     
  11. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    Watch a youtube video on cex to dex via rebug
    You sorted now?
     
  12. 41
    5
    37
    ReddMcKnight

    ReddMcKnight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    I believe I am. I think I've got the hang of it for PS2 Games.
     
  13. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    Cool enjoy ,what ps3 you running?
     
  14. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    I'd advise you turn your fan speed up a wee bit via webman setup in webman on xmb then hit save box on bottom left of page as its gonna run hottor on a already fragile system
     
  15. 1,175
    332
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    what are advantages of dex vs cex on rebug?and how it relates to running ps2 iso's?
     
  16. 41
    5
    37
    ReddMcKnight

    ReddMcKnight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    It's a standard Slim PS3. Unfortunately, I did take a slight risk installing CFW, as the sticker with the number on the back is gone. What percentage should I change the fan to?
     
  17. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    I'd set it to 40 to start if its too noisy work down a little but you need to uncheck dynamic speed box and make sure you save you'll hear the fan speed up and you can restart console and adjust accordingly, just a bummer if you overheat it as you just jailbroke it hey..
     
  18. 92
    27
    17
    Mozzy5837

    Mozzy5837 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    livin the dream
    Location:
    big smoke
    Think dex enables cobra and webman functions
     
  19. 1,175
    332
    172
    umart666

    umart666 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    i'm on latest rebug rex,and i have both cobra and webman enabled and working.only thing is that ps2 iso's wont work from ntfs external hdd,ps3 iso's and psX .bin's and .img work.
     
  20. 41
    5
    37
    ReddMcKnight

    ReddMcKnight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    Okay, so I set it to 40, and hit save, then restarted, but when I went to go check it, the little dot was back on SYSCON, instead of Manual. Is that normal?
     

Share This Page