PS3 RCOMAGE Mod 1.8 - Proper & Automated GIM to PNG conversion, Dump & Compile Files.

Discussion in 'Developer Tools' started by RandomDude, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. 4,823
    4,588
    372
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4,823
    Likes Received:
    4,588
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    Home Page:
    I was about to say..most these old command line tools don't like spaces in paths or filenames.
     
    RandomDude likes this.
  2. 1,619
    717
    172
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    I agree, it seems they take the space as end of current entry and start of a new entry as if you where entering multiple commands. It bugs the hell out of me if i accidentally add one where it shouldn't be and it breaks the command i have just entered lol.
     
    RandomDude likes this.
  3. 3,740
    3,262
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    DeViL303 likes this.
  4. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    DeViL303 likes this.
  5. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Rcomage mod has been updated to v1.2

    v1.2 Contains ---> GUI with several bug fixes and workarounds for faster dumps.

    Thank you @sandungas for the help with bugs.
    @Cypher_CG89 for suggesting a GUI update
    @DeViL303 for the custom directory suggestion.

    Mostly there won't be any improvement from here on except for any bug fixes. If anyone has a suggestion or wants to make me another GUI you can just link it here with a screenshot.
     
  6. 442
    282
    97
    haxxxen

    haxxxen Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    97
    @RandomDude
    really nice and handy tool. love the automation, but seems that your tool has some minor bug or is it wanted? your tool does not apply zlib compression on my side. it is 2x size of the resulting rco using only rcomage
     
    DeViL303 and RandomDude like this.
  7. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Seems like you're right..... Minor bug but I'll just update it right now. Thank you.
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  8. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Updated it to v1.3, Thank you @haxxxen for reporting the issue.

    Changes:
    -Added zlib header compression while compiling the rco.
     
  9. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    @sandungas

    These are files from sytem_plugin.rco:

    tex_default_spin_arrow_down.gim
    tex_default_spin_arrow_down_shadow.gim
    tex_default_spin_arrow_up.gim
    tex_line.gim


    I've checked the hashes manually it doesn't meet ps3dxt1, ps3dxt3, ps3dxt5, ps3rgba8888, ps3rgba8888 --update_fileinfo on
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
  10. 1,619
    717
    172
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Dump them as "scrip only" so they end up as .GIS and use HxD to open them and it should tell you what the are. Normally there's 2 references at the top of the file within the first 20 lines that will tell you this info.

    EDIT: so instead of tex_line.gim -o use tex_line -S (no file name needed after)
     
    RandomDude likes this.
  11. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    I've found Tex_arrow_down_shadow.gim & tex_arrow_up_shadow.gim. These are ps3dxt1.
     
  12. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    @sandungas tex_default_spin_arrow_down.gim Doesn't use all 14 settings....
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
  13. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    hmmm Following @Cypher_CG89's method it says Format RGBA8888, but when doing gim to gim conversion the hashes don't meet...
     
  14. 3,740
    3,262
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    All them seems to be made by using -ps3rgba8888
    And can be identifyed in a GIM-to-GIM conversion by using this command:
    Code:
    GimConvC.exe tex_default_spin_arrow_down_ORIGINAL.gim -o tex_default_spin_arrow_down-REBUILT.gim -ps3rgba8888 --update_fileinfo on
    Note im using GimConvC.exe (the gimconv version patched as v1.20c)
    This is better explained with more details at the bottom of post 2 here, in the section *Notes* (about fileinfo and GimConv versions)
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/research-rcomage-psdevwiki-mod.17958/#post-123800

    The reason why i included several patched versions of gimconv.exe is because for the GIM-to-GIM bruteforce process we need to "build" a file identical to the original, but when you use "fileinfo" gimconv.exe adds his version at bottom of the "fileinfo" area
    Look at this image (is one of the original GIM files you mentioned), the byte i marked at bottom
    [​IMG]
    By reading that "fileinfo" we know the "user account" in the microsoft windows operating system that build that GIM file was named "tom"
    And it was made at 2005 (even before the PS3 was released)
    And at that time the gimconv.exe version they was using was v1.20c

    But... gimconv.exe v1.20c doesnt exists ! (it never was leaked publically as far i know)
    The only gimconv.exe publically available is v1.20h... but if you make a GIM-to-GIM conversion with gimconv.exe 1.20h you are not going to have an identical file in the GIM-to-GIM process, and this is the cause of the problem you are having, because you are using the default gimconv.exe from the "rcomage psdevwiki mod" that is patched to v1.20e

    The point is...
    There are many GIM files in latest firmwares (such 4.84) that are ancient, because never was updated... some was made with gimconv.exe v1.20c and others with v1.20e
    And eventually we could find some more versions (if we consider the only public gimconv.exe is 1.20h all intermediate versions are posible)
    So this is why i made a bunch of gimconv.exe patched to c,d,e,f,g,h

    You should use all them in cascade (incase the GIM is not identifyed use other gimconv.exe patched to other version c,d,e,f,g,h)
    You should start with "e" because is the most usual found in PS3 firmwares (this is why i made it default), but we know sony used gimconv.exe 1.20 "c" in some of the GIM files that are still inside the modern PS3 firmwares
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
    DeViL303 and RandomDude like this.
  15. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the help, Also while using gimconvc I should use PS3rgba8888 instead of ps3rgba8888 --update_fileinfo on right?
    Just like original gimconv?

    Also in your rcomage mod you didn't include ps3dxt1, I've seen many files use that conversion
     
  16. 3,740
    3,262
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Not sure if i understood your question, but all the GimConv versions i patched works in the same way
    So you need to do the same you was doing before, but when using the "c" version instead of starting the command with GimConv.exe you need to start it with GimConvC.exe

    Actually, if you compare the GimConv.exe and GimConvE.exe from the rcomage psdevwiki mod you will notice are identical. So you could replace every line where you was using GimConv.exe by GimConvE.exe (just to make the source code more understandable)

    In other words... you need to start the sequence in the same way you was doing but using GimConvE.exe
    And after that repeat it with GimConvC.exe

    The option -ps3dxt1 is included in the rcomage psdevwiki mod, but just as a prevention because i know the GIM format supports it, but i never found a GIM file made like that on PS3 firmware
     
  17. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Tex_arrow_down_shadow.gim & tex_arrow_up_shadow.gim. it's located in system_plugin.rco

    I got that. I've updated rcomage accordingly. Thank you so much for the help.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  18. 3,740
    3,262
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Nice, both GIM files are dxt1 based :encouragement:
    Can be identifyed this way (both original and rebuilt GIMs are identical):
    Code:
    C:\Portables\RCOmage psdevwiki MOD v20180916\GimConv>GimConv.exe tex_arrow_up_shadow.gim -o tex_arrow_up_shadow_dxt1.gim -ps3dxt1
    load "tex_arrow_up_shadow.gim"
    save "./tex_arrow_up_shadow_dxt1.gim"
    
    So it looks we have all the dxt familly (1,3,5) used on PS3 firmware
    Btw, the dxt1 are around half the size compared with dxt5... the biggest difference is dxt1 doesnt supports transparency... so is only used when the image have all pixels fully opaque
     
    RandomDude and DeViL303 like this.
  19. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    *NOTE TO ANYONE USING THIS TOOL*

    I've recently found a bug which doesn't allow multiple rco's to be dumped at once and can't achieve compiling other xml dumps (other versions of rcomage)

    1) Only compile files you've dumped with this version of rcomage.

    2) Never dump multiple rco's at once. What you can do is dump one rco then compile it and then only you can dump another one and then compile that and so on. (Reason behind that is after dumping one rco then dumping another one overwrites the database folder and the database.txt along with the RcoData folder)

    I'm currently preparing the 1.6 update which would allow multiple dumps at once.

    I'm out of ideas for the 1st precaution tho. I might need to create a database that stores 2000+ gim files for that. I've tried that at the start but then I realized there was no need for it due to real-time conversion. As cypher_cg89 suggested I might need to create a gimconv config file.
    That would take a lot of time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
    DeViL303 likes this.
  20. 333
    185
    47
    RandomDude

    RandomDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Updated it to v1.6

    -Now the users can fill up the database.
    -Achieve multiple dumps/compilations.
    -Read error warnings a little better.
    -Rcomage can be stored on a different drive ex: D drive etc.

    I've been planning certain changes for the future. If you're curious
    -Get rid of the console and display it in a small sized GUI.
    -A workaround in mind to achieve faster gim setting determination.
    -Allow complete PSP rco compatibility.
    -Allow multiple rco dumps simultaneously.
    -Allow multiple xml compilations simultaneously.
    -An information button that leads to psx-place website and tutorials on how to edit the rco files.

    Also for anyone who is doing some heavy mod creation I'm creating another version of Rcomage which will allow the user to dump all the rco's present in dev_flash at the same time with proper conversion settings & after the user has made his changes it will compile all the rco's (yes ALL OF THEM) with their respective settings. (May or May not take a long time)
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2019
    DeViL303 likes this.

Share This Page