Rebug Package Manager files (.rco)

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by DigitalDrive, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello,
    I wanted to change the red psn logos and i downloaded the lastest FW from Sony and extracted the .PUP file to find the .rco files I needed to replace.
    I managed to successfully change the icons BUT the Package Manager's icons and text are missing.
    Please don't tell me to install the CFW again because I need to find the .rco files.
    I actually have that one I don't know which one it is.
    I couldn't find any viewers or editors of this format.
    Please, I need help.
    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. 5,840
    2,886
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    2,886
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Rcomage

    Always check the wiki if you can find something. Dunno which file you need exactly but this will allow you to view inside the RCO and make edits as needed.
     
  3. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    To change the PSN logo on the normal XMB you only need to replace catagory_psn.rco. For the in game XMB it is xmb_ingame.rco. And possibley replace xmb_normal.rco as well but not 100% sure on that, all I replaced was the catagory_psn.rco. And the simplest way to get everything back would be to re-install REBUG then simply replace the 2 RCO's required to change the PSN logo. Or excract all the rco's from rebug you chnaged to OFW ones and o it that way.

    The version of RCO Mage is now outdated and will break GIM image setting's within the RCO's resulting in white blocks everywhere if you do a GIM to PNG conversion and vise versa as it is set to certain GIM image settings by default and not all of them are the same in PS3 firmware.

    What people should use now is GFS RCO Mage MOD v1.8 by @RandomDude. Its works 100% with no conversion errors and is fully automated if you wanted to swap icons with custom one's:

    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/r...version-dump-compile-files.22867/#post-162720
     
    RandomDude and Coldheart2236 like this.
  4. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I forgot to say that but, I'm not only changing the PSN logo, I'm trying to change a lot of things.
    Well, I've narrowed the search. It's DEFINITELY one of these files:
    ------These are from Rebug's custom firmware-----
    explore_category_psn.rco
    explore_plugin_full.rco
    np_multisignin_plugin.rco
    npsignin_plugin.rco
    wboard_plugin.rco
    xmb_ingame.rco
    xmb_plugin_normal.rco

    and yes I think you're right. I'll try...
     
  5. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Well if you use the RCO MAge I linked then you easily extract the images from the OFW RCOs and place them into the ones from REBUG, and also add you own custom ones in.

    Package manager items disappearing may be a result of changing the explore_plugin _full.rco and xmb_plugin_normal.rco. Best thing to do is to edit the REBUG rcos so things don't easily go missing.
     
    RandomDude likes this.
  6. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes! I replaced the explore_plugin_full.rco and it worked.
    Thanks!
    But I don't know how to change the color of that one though. It's red.

    EDIT: I just realized that this single .rco file changed PSN sign in icon and PS Store icon to red.
    Hmm...
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  7. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    To change them back to blue as they are in OFW you would need to extract the RCOs from explore_full and catagory_psn then do the same with the RCOs from REBUG and simply swap the RED ones for the blue ones, rebuild the rco, put them on the PS3, reboot and they should be changed. DO it one rco at a time like explore _full from OFW and REBUG then the PSN catagory. Doing it this way would ensure any CFW related things don't go missing.

    For the PSN catagory I would just swap the REBUG RCO with the OFW RCO as nothing really important is in this column that is CFW related other than title store etc which I doubt anyone even use's now> I removed it myself as well as every place a star appears on the XMB that is CFW related so it looks more clean.
     
  8. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright so I've extracted the .rco file. I replaced all the .gim files with the originals.
    Now here's a stupid question: (sorry)
    How can I export all these into a .rco file again?
     
  9. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Rebuild the RCO with the program. There will be an xml in the folder where you dumped the RCO in the first place. Select " Compile " in the app and then navigate to where the rco is dumped and look for the main xml for the RCO. I normally have them labled the same as the rco being dumped so for example:

    explore_catagory_psn.rco > explore_catagory_psn.xml < this xml tell's the app where the files for the rco are stored on the PC, what setting's where used> GIM, compression etc> in them so they can be compiled easily.
     
  10. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    It crashes when I try to compile. And only thing I did was to change the image files.
     
  11. 12,159
    4,912
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,159
    Likes Received:
    4,912
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I didn't even know this modded version existed, so I replaced my old RCO Mage with this one.

    if the program is crashing, try running it in administrator mode.
     
  12. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    It always runs in administrator mode.
     
  13. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    This app has never crashed for me and I have every version of it from v1. And v1.8 works perfectly, one thing to remeber is don't move the folders about of the rco, just the internal files of the rco.

    If admin fails then try dumping the rcos agin but this time select GIM to PNG conversion then swap out the png image files then complie with PNG to GIM so the app can make sure all the GIM setting are correct.
     
  14. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Will converting to png and back to gim degrade the quality?
     
  15. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    No not at all. Its just converting the image from 1 format to the other then back to GIM again when compiling. This just ensure's the GIM setting's for the file are the way they should be.
     
  16. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, I did it! It crashed at the end of compiling but all the 34 images were already converted to gim and the .rco file was ready.
    I think it crashed because there's no sound file and it was waiting for more info?

    EDIT: There's nothing in the compiled .rco.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  17. 2,823
    1,451
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Most likely, just uncheck the sound conversion box when dumping an compiling and that should stop it from crashing in the future. There are only certain rco's with sounds in anyways, and not very many of them.
     
  18. 37
    2
    7
    DigitalDrive

    DigitalDrive Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    upload_2019-6-12_11-30-17.png

    I think it crashes when it tries to get Rcomage 1.1.2. (I tested it without converting gim to png)

    EDIT: With the png converted one it still does it. It crashes when it gets to Rcomage 1.1.2.
     
  19. 12,159
    4,912
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,159
    Likes Received:
    4,912
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    try enabling full access to user under settings via properties on rcomage 1.1.2. I had a similar problem last night with nsp verify for the switch. it errored after verifying the nsp, because it couldn't create the corruption.txt due to privileges. however, that was only when it was in the program files (x86) folder. it probably would've been fine on the desktop.
     
  20. 181
    131
    97
    blckbear_

    blckbear_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical engineering student
    I don't know if RCOMage has problems with folder naming, but maybe try making sure that your folder structure doesn't contain folders with spaces in its name
     
    pinky likes this.

Share This Page