Red death screen

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Ahmad essa, Jan 20, 2020.

  1. 10
    0
    5
    Ahmad essa

    Ahmad essa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi everyone
    First I am sorry my English not very good So slow down with me .
    I have a jailbreak ps3 fat I stuck on rogero downgrade 999 the problem when I try update file name get out from 999 to 3.55 nobd I get or any other update files I get red deth screen the only update file working is rogero downgrade the other keep give me red dead screen.. Anyone can help me plz. Thanks
     
  2. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Try reinstalling Rogero 3.55 noBD from FSM, if its results to an rsod, try using the rsod fix Lv2Diag.self file in fsm and reinstall again in fsm. If its still fail maybe your flash is bad.
     
  3. 3,395
    1,841
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3,395
    Likes Received:
    1,841
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Home Page:
    What....?.?.?.? DO NOT install a CFW while in FSM (Factory/Service Mode)...
     
    jeka26 and MegaManX970 like this.
  4. 31
    20
    7
    MegaManX970

    MegaManX970 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Bad advice. You're risking a permanent RSOD at startup by updating to CFW while on FSM, it gets on a RSOD loop after update restart and your console is forever dead.
     
  5. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    No, it will not, you can still try to install a no rsod 3.55 cfw from fsm. And if its show rsod after the rsod fix Lv2Diag.self then the flash is faulty anyway.
     
  6. 3,395
    1,841
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3,395
    Likes Received:
    1,841
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Home Page:
    Do you even know what your talking about.... clearly not... and should stop giving out advise that could permanently damage a PS3. ANY Dev will tell you not to install a CFW while on FSM.

    Also in Mysis's CFW Extras plugin do you think that under "Toggle Factory/Service Mode option" is in Capital Letters DO NOT install a CFW while in FSM is there for the fun of it....

    No FSM CFW UPADTE.png

    But I suppose you know better...

    Also there was another user on here not long ago who did exactly what what you saying to do... they installed CFW in FSM and guess what...? Their PS3 is now a paperweight with permanent RSOD as it completely corrupted the VTRM regions.
     
    Yugonibblit and jeka26 like this.
  7. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    This is an advice for noobs. I have fixed many PS3s and downgraded much more. Sometimes you need to install a CFW in FSM. Example: After Hardware downgrade you need to install a noBD FW, so are there any noBD OFWs available?

    EDIT: If you are on 3.55 you are at safe side, you can always enter FSM with a dongle and try to repair the VTRM region from FSM, which I have advised already. If its not helps, than his flash is dead anyway.
     
  8. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42

    Attached Files:

    ElGris likes this.
  9. 10
    0
    5
    Ahmad essa

    Ahmad essa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    So now I am on rogero3. 55 downgrade the ps3 work fine but if I but any other update it's be red death screen I try to install the update file you send it to me it's not work give error
     
  10. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Try to install it from Recovery Mode.
     
  11. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Wait! If you can install packages, then first try to install and run the rsod fix pkg from the archive rsod_fix_final.zip I have attached before.
     
  12. 24
    12
    7
    xanadu247

    xanadu247 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Try the rsod fix documented here.

    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/RSOD_Fix

    If the rsod returns, you will have to swap out the flash. Obviously technical skill is required, so only do that if you have the experience and proper tools. You must carry over the perconsole data from your defective nor to the new nor.

    You can also use a rsod bypass cfw but that limits you somewhat.
     
    MegaManX970 and ElGris like this.
  13. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    One more advice that comes to my mind: Do a backup of your bios before you do anything further. If your flash is really bad, it could be damaged on write access even more.
     
    Yugonibblit and MegaManX970 like this.
  14. 10
    0
    5
    Ahmad essa

    Ahmad essa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I can install pkg but nothing work and when I go to recovery mode he ask me for 9.99 I try many other update nothing work only if I but the nobd update ps3 it's work but after that he go to RSOD
     
  15. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    First please do a NOR/NAND backup to a working FAT32 usb drive. I'm assuming you have a NOR console. Post the model beginning with CECH. You can do a backup of your flash using Multiman. Insert a working FAT32 drive in the most right USB port, in Multiman start the Filemanager, on the desktop open the Textfile in HEX Editor using the Circle button. In HEX editor press Select and then Start, choose Yes to export Flash.
     
  16. 10
    0
    5
    Ahmad essa

    Ahmad essa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Bro I am on rogero downgrade I install multiman pkg it's only black screen nothing work my ps3 it's not jailbreak before
     
  17. 8,324
    9,441
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,324
    Likes Received:
    9,441
    Trophy Points:
    797
    On 3.55 and below it is ok to enter FSM and update FW, we have properly signed lv2_diag.self files to enter and exit FSM. After 3.55 the self for exiting FSM was revoked/blacklisted.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    Yugonibblit likes this.
  18. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Rogero downgrader 999 is a CFW and you can install pkgs. So the ps3 is already "jailbreaked". If you put any disc into your disc drive, is the clock on the upper right corner spinning?
     
  19. 10
    0
    5
    Ahmad essa

    Ahmad essa Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    No nothing

    How I can get in FSM?

    I have those pkg but nothing of them are working
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2020
  20. 80
    30
    42
    gmipf

    gmipf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    42
    If the clock isn't spinning on disc access, than your drive board is probably defect or not married. Without a drive board you can't start any applications. We need to be sure if you are really on 3.55 before we can enter FSM. For FSM you need an FSM dongle or a PSP.

    Please send a photo of your system settings -> system information -> software version. If it is 9.99, then you are probably on 3.55.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
    Yugonibblit likes this.

Share This Page