PS3 [Research] Modifying the Gaia Visualization (custom_render_plugin/earth.qrc)

Discussion in 'XMB Modifications' started by DeViL303, Jan 9, 2020.

  1. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    I'm going to have a bit of a mess with a world. :) Maybe make it do some stuff its not meant to or just learn about how it works a bit.

    Not sure if this stuff is documented, (or even needs to be documented :-p ), but anyway here are some of the earth presets or overrides.

    I will post more info here as I figure it out.

    There are 30 presets in total. Here are the first 10. The other 20 will be a little harder to force due to space in the sprx..

    earth/presets/0
    earth0.jpg


    earth/presets/1
    earth1.jpg


    earth/presets/2
    earth2.jpg

    earth/presets/3
    earth3.jpg


    earth/presets/4
    earth4.jpg


    earth/presets/5
    earth5.jpg


    earth/presets/6
    earth6.jpg


    earth/presets/7
    earth7.jpg


    earth/presets/8
    earth8.jpg


    earth/presets/9
    earth9.jpg



    I have also attached the 10 custom_render_plugins used to force the earth to always show the preset "preset" :) If anyone wants to help, you will see what I am doing if you look at those files in hex and compare to originals, its super simple stuff. Have a go modifying some files too @Louay @LuanTeles etc
    upload_2020-1-10_3-15-52.png


    I am just patching all the entries to be the same, so it cant change. See all the "earth/preset/0"...
    upload_2020-1-10_3-29-23.png
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    I have forced the final 20 presets and taken screenshots of each. Files attached.

    This might seem like a small thing but for me being able to force it to just stick to one preset is the first step to being able to modify it. Its impossible to test out mods when its randomly switching between 30 presets.

    Now we can force it to stick to the first preset, modify that, then move onto the next and so on. We can also remove any presets we don't like and duplicate any we do like so they show up more often and stuff like that.

    Also we can compare the different preset images to the values in the earth.qrc and figure out exactly how to get each camera position etc.

    earth/presets/0a
    earth0a.jpg

    earth/presets/0b
    earth0b.jpg

    earth/presets/1a
    earth1a.jpg

    earth/presets/1b
    earth1b.jpg


    earth/presets/2a
    earth2a.jpg

    earth/presets/2b
    earth2b.jpg

    earth/presets/3a
    earth3a.jpg

    earth/presets/3b
    earth3b.jpg

    earth/presets/4a
    earth4a.jpg

    earth/presets/4b
    earth4b.jpg

    earth/presets/5a
    earth5a.jpg

    earth/presets/5b
    earth5b.jpg

    earth/presets/6a
    earth6a.jpg

    earth/presets/6b
    earth6b.jpg

    earth/presets/7a
    earth7a.jpg

    earth/presets/7b
    earth7b.jpg

    earth/presets/8a
    earth8a.jpg

    earth/presets/8b
    earth8b.jpg

    earth/presets/9a
    earth9a.jpg

    earth/presets/9b
    earth9b.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Grim Doe, dazzaXx, ZeroOne and 7 others like this.
  3. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    I meant to say, those last 20 patches are not as good, due to lack of space in the sprx I could only patch 2 out of 3 places properly.

    So it will trigger earth/preset/0 33% of the time, if you see this just restart it.
    [​IMG]

    The other 66% of the time it will trigger the one mentioned in the sprx name.


    Here is an sprx attached that I call "Dark Earth Mod", This works 100% of the time. It cycles through 8, 8a, 8b only. Kinda cool looking but might get a bit boring after a while. :)

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Anyway this just shows, that we could make a few custom presets in the qrc with a crazy camera for example, or weird colors, and have it cycle through them.

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 10, 2020
    jeka26, Grim Doe, dazzaXx and 11 others like this.
  4. 79
    18
    62
    vr6cer

    vr6cer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Finally, I was always thinking about these Earth presets, during music playback, that it would be nice to play them around, and now someone had an excellent idea to tweak with this functionality. Thanks @DeViL303!
     
    Grim Doe, xf505 and DeViL303 like this.
  5. 7,566
    7,038
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Nice review, are a lot :)
    Btw earth.qrc has several special files (.DUMP .PATH .INI .TXT) unknown by now, the .TXT and DUMP maybe are "garbage" but the PATH looks like the "traveling" line of the camera, the INI could be interesting too, probably is used a lot

    There is a page in psdevwiki btw (for an easy overview of the file contents) https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Earth.qrc




    Edit:
    Btw, have you thought in shorting all the path names earth/presets/ in the .sprx by earth/cfw/ ?
    And the same path replacement inside earth.qrc
     
    esc0rtd3w, Yugonibblit, T.A.U and 4 others like this.
  6. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Cool, yeah. I've been looking at that.

    Yes, that would be cool but for now I am just seeing what does what, eventually though I will ask you for some help to port some mods to the qrc if you are up for it.

    Untitled.jpg
     
    T.A.U, LuanTeles, Anthonyy817 and 2 others like this.
  7. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Cloudless mod, looks kinda cool. sprx attached.

    cloudless.jpg
    cloudless1.jpg
    cloudless2.jpg



    I simply stopped the clouds from loading by removing this line(zero filled):
    upload_2020-1-12_2-4-53.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  8. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    No land and no clouds. Just water and stars :)

    groundless.jpg
     
    Yugonibblit, T.A.U, LuanTeles and 3 others like this.
  9. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Just messing with RGB entries, swapping them around has some nice effects.

    upload_2020-1-12_19-0-56.png


    BRG instead of RGB:

    red_moon.jpg red_moon2.jpg pinkmoon.jpg greenmoon3.jpg greenmoon4.jpg pinkmoon3.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  10. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    This is the "Just Water and Stars" patch.It's a very simple patch, just got rid of "EarthStuff" by duplicating "CloudParam".

    If you just zero fill this one it will crash, so duplicating a nearby entry is a little trick you can use. ;)


    waterworld.jpg

    upload_2020-1-12_22-27-29.png
    upload_2020-1-12_22-28-3.png
     

    Attached Files:

  11. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    So far I have found about 10 ways to break the land and clouds, but only 1 way to make it wire frame... And I lost the file ffs. :)

    Need to try find the patch again. That one was just luck achieved with few patchesand I can't get the combination right again.

    I think removing all the textures from the qrc would have the same effect.
     
  12. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Smokey planet!

    #climatechange

    smokey1.jpg smokey2.jpg smokey3.jpg smokey4.jpg smokey5.jpg smokey6.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    Java Brasil ps3, T.A.U and LuanTeles like this.
  13. 2,891
    2,761
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    2,761
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Would be totally awesome to have it as dynamic theme or somehow force PS3 to show it always, not only in music player. I love it since first appearance in fw. ^^
     
    Yugonibblit, T.A.U, LuanTeles and 2 others like this.
  14. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    I have been trying to get the music player visualization to stay playing when I exit. No luck so far, but I think its possible.

    I also tried lots of ways to get it to load the earth.qrc instead of lines.qrc on boot, swapping sprxs etc, no luck either. Need someone to reverse it really.
     
  15. 7,566
    7,038
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Are you used to the "CXML decompiler" python script made by flatz ?
    Is what i used for all the other experiments when we was "remaping" files by patching values in the .qrc structure
    Well... to be exact... i been using a special version of that script modifyed by me, i made a couple of changes to output the info we need for the remaps :) (and a bugfix related with float datatypes precission)

    Im going to publish it because at this point im sure my modifications are stables and are useful
    You should get used to it
     
    esc0rtd3w, Yugonibblit, xf505 and 3 others like this.
  16. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    I never heard of it, but I am interested.
     
    xf505 likes this.
  17. 7,566
    7,038
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    This is like an official release because i just updated the page in wiki where is officially hosted the CXML decompiler script, it was made by flatz but im sure he agrees with my changes, we was talking about all this before and rolling around the same problem with the floats precission, some weeks ago i realized what we was doing wrong, i think now is fixed definitivelly :D
    And the other change i made (adding the hex codes for the remaps) is something im sure people like you are going to like it
    Anyway... is open source, anyone can modify that page in wiki and becomes official (unless someones breaks it)

    The script can be improved a lot, is just im not used to python, the small changes i made was because are basic programming (common for different languages) so i just imagined/googled the python syntax :P

    So this is the CXML decompiler v6... i posted it in pastebin too (for easy copypasting or downloading)
    https://pastebin.com/Si3Z4iDu

    You can copypaste the python code and save it in your PC as cxmldecompiler.py ... and then run it in command line
    *To run the pyhthon script this way you need to have installed python v2.7 (probably some of you already have it ?)

    The other way to run it is incase someone "packs" the python script into an .exe ... there are some windows tools that allows to do this with any python script, if someone does it please post the download link somewhere
     
    esc0rtd3w, xf505, Berion and 2 others like this.
  18. 7,566
    7,038
    797
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    I made another small change, now the filenames of the extracted files are more clean, based in my experience using this tool for the experiments we was doing the past weeks i think this is the best filenames we can have by now with this python script
    I understand some of the code and i have a clear idea of what needs to be made, but i dont know how to do it, i guess we need to open a forum thread for it incase someone skilled in python wants to take a look at it

    But in the meantime, this is CXML decompiler v7 ---> https://pastebin.com/Xj878JHi

    This is an example of the .xml file generated by v7 when used with earth.qrc (440-485 firmwares) ---> https://pastebin.com/mSveqnBa
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    esc0rtd3w, T.A.U, Berion and 2 others like this.
  19. 30
    55
    12
    xf505

    xf505 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks again DeViL303 for sharing!! Here are some screenshots of my first attempt. Thought it was kind of cool Screenshot (666).png Screenshot (670).png
     
    T.A.U, Yugonibblit and DeViL303 like this.
  20. 8,605
    9,692
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Looks great, you should try flipping the different RGB values around until you can get a red and blue version too, then share the patches. :)


    @all it seems like all the presets are not used normally, hard to know due to the randomness but I never seem to see all 3 presets that I used in the dark earth mod when I use all official files. I did see one or 2 of them once.

    Maybe they can show but have less of a chance of showing....not sure.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2020

Share This Page