PS3 RetroArch (PS3) - Issues / Core Issues Status (Report an Issue)

Discussion in 'RetroArch' started by STLcardsWS, Mar 24, 2018.

  1. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    Some quick test and also some of the reported comments
    (Testing not complete and anyone that can report on a core please do so.)

    • NON Working / Issues
    • Working Cores
    • Clone / Duplicate
    • Works may have a minor to moderate issues.


    Libretro Cores
    • 81_libretro_ps3
      • Notes: Works but not all Roms are compatible.
    • 2048_libretro_ps3
    • atari800_libretro_ps3
      • BIOS seems to load (?) games not loading
    • bluemsx_libretro_ps3
    • dosbox_libretro_ps3
      • You can use the d-pad of the ps3 gamepad just going on quick menu->options->use analog and controls->retropad w/analog
    • fbalpha_libretro_ps3
    • fbalpha2012_libretro_ps3
    • fceumm_libretro_ps3
    • fmsx_libretro_ps3
    • freeintv_libretro_ps3 (bios required)
    • gambatte_libretro_ps3
    • genesis_plus_gx_libretro_ps3
    • gw_libretro_ps3
    • handy_libretro_ps3
      • (if game (lynx) does not play on Handy try on mednafen_lynx core and vice versa)
    • hatari_libretro_ps3
    • lutro_libretro_ps3
      • Seems some functions are not opertaing correctly in engine, downloaded from RetroArch downloads tetris just has blocks that drop at rapid speed, and then platformer had odd speed ups and slow downs and when you died the PS3 froze.
    • mame2000_libretro_ps3
    • mame2003_libretro_ps3
      • (for best results use MAME 0.78 romset, Note: A lower version Romset are better then using a higher., but 0.78 is best to use)
    • mednafen_lynx_libretro_ps3
    • mednafen_ngp_libretro_ps3
    • mednafen_pce_fast_libretro_ps3
    • mednafen_pcfx_libretro_ps3 (Works but Poor Performance)
    • mednafen_snes_libretro_ps3 (Unplayable 20-25 FPS)
    • mednafen_supergrafx_libretro_ps3 -
      • Clone of Mednafen_PCE-Fast (plays both SuperGrafx and Turbo Grafx)
    • mednafen_vb_libretro_ps3
    • mednafen_wswan_libretro_ps3
    • mgba_libretro_ps3
    • nestopia_libretro_ps3
    • nxengine_libretro_ps3
    • o2em_libretro_ps3
    • pokemini_libretro_ps3
    • prboom_libretro_ps3
    • prosystem_libretro_ps3
    • puae_libretro_ps3 -
    • quicknes_libretro_ps3
    • snes9x_libretro_ps3
    • snes9x2005_libretro_ps3
    • snes9x2010_libretro_ps3
    • stella_libretro_ps3
    • tyrquake_libretro_ps3
    • vba_next_libretro_ps3
    • vecx_libretro_ps3
    • virtualjaguar_libretro_ps3
      • (unplayable 20-25 FPS)

    • Vice C64
      • Wen loading a file, Basic is shown starting with the classic loading of the game like a cassette and the PS3 freeze.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2018
  2. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    RetroArch Issues: (UI)

    Menu Freezes / Crashes

    • When you change Menu Shader Pipeline settings, ps3 freezes when scanning options.
    • On-Screen Notifications menu, if you toggle "Notification Background Enabled" the console freezes. (not sure what the feature is exactly but when i tried to find out resulted in a freeze)
    • In "Appearance" then "Menu Icon Theme" when switching to first option (when you hit left (from the default option), "monochrome Inverted" when selected was blocked out icons missing, but the weird thing is controls stopped working in the MENU. The XMB cloned wave is still flowing and you can get into the PS3 ingame XMB itself but your stuck so not your typical freeze (Note, this is not a problem i seen in v1.7.0 not sure if i installed v1.7.1 (official) to know if its a 1.7.1 issue or just this build?)
      • Reboot of the app, gives controls back (without removing retroarch.cfg) but icon set is still black. but seems the control issue was just when toggling, not from having the icon set loaded it self. Went back and this time went the other way in the menu and all is working as it should that way until you get to "RetroSystem" icons are missing.. Now when i got back to monochrome inverted (all worked notmal icons were missing but did not do that odd freeze of the controls)
    Non Working Setting / features
    • Collection Support
    • Scanning of content ("0% preparing for scanning" is stuck at 0%)
    • Playlist
    • ScreenShot function (but most CFW provide ScreenShot feature but no way to pause the gameplay (without an actual pause of the game). The screenshot feature freezes the screen and gameplay in previous version when working.)
    • MENU COLOR THEME (There is a white option, maybe on some displays its okay but on mine was just a blinding white screen)
    • Threaded Video (OFF by default, when toggle ON black Screen Freeze)
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2018
  3. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    Green Text = tested Roms working at full speed
    Red = Speed issues or not working
    normal text = untested /unreported

    Libretro Cores

     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
    Ali888 likes this.
  4. 235
    117
    72
    Ali888

    Ali888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks a lot for this great list
     
  5. 580
    221
    97
    DEX357

    DEX357 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Thanks for this list, it's still a long way to let all problems mentioned in the post be resolved.
     
  6. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    Its a start and a foundation. but its takes more then one or even a few user's involvement.
    Test are welcome and more extensive test are welcome as well.

    @Zar & @Ezio a few new issues i have found (added in issues post above)
     
  7. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    in Retroarch UI (2nd post)
     
  8. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    Somewhat expected but if you toggle this on an NTSC setups it results in a black screen freeze.
    Something to note

    cccccccc.png
     
    Ezio likes this.
  9. 9,173
    9,397
    1,172
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    9,397
    Trophy Points:
    1,172
    Here is an issue that can arises (alot of driver options as well will be like this when selecting null resulting in black screens)

    When you change off SixAxix you are unable to change any options
    (maybe a USB keyboard could do something i did not try, but the result is editting/removing the retroiarch.cfg)
    5454544221.png
     
  10. 136
    247
    72
    Ezio

    Ezio Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I guess it's a nice idea taking the issues on the frontend and comparing them to github issues, then open an issue on the main repo whether it hasn't already been opened.
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  11. 49
    29
    42
    ZeroOne

    ZeroOne (Formerly kineticUk)

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Europe
    I’ve been playing with the official retroarch stable PS3 releases and after installing the latest stable I noticed an issue using the genesis plus gx and mednafen pce cores: black screen crash/freeze when you load an archive (stable 1.7.2, 1.7.3, 1.7.4, 1.7.5, 1.7.6 and 1.7.7 releases).

    These two cores do NOT browse/load compressed archives but only work with uncompressed roms currently e.g .md or .pce but NOT .zip.

    Info: The 'Load Archive' feature is broken (exits to XMB) in Retroarch PS3 stable but using 'Browse Archive' to browse/load works (with other cores e.g Nestopia, Gambatte)
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
  12. 467
    65
    82
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    oh,most difficult function is retroarch
    how to handle this so much option
    I couldn't understand anything
    how to handle people this so much most difficult function?
     

Share This Page