Running games from BD-R from Multiman

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by snkplkn, May 19, 2019.

  1. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    I was trying to write a Game folder onto USB but as file is larger than 4 GB, i can't do it. I know that FTP transfer is one way of installing games directly to PS3 internal hard drive.

    But i am thinking if i can put Game folder BLUXXXX on BD-R. I can write BD-R on my PC. Will Multiman detect the game on BD-R? Will i be able to install it in my internal hdd of PS3? Can i put multiple game folders on single BD-R?
     
  2. 3,065
    2,979
    372
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    2,979
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Southwest US
    BD-R support was added since HEN 2.0.0, you will have to build a proper ISO file to run that properly

    @atreyu187 is very experienced with it.
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  3. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    So i have to burn BDR as a ISO? Just putting simple game folders on BDR won't detect the game on Multiman?

    I am on CFW 4.82 Standard.
     
  4. 3,065
    2,979
    372
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    2,979
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Southwest US
    Unfortunately standard CFW 4.82 won't support decrypted/burnt ISO, it's only supported by COBRA CFWs, and yes you can burn ISO directly to BD-R and use it, but the compatibility is hit or miss and not worth it.
     
  5. 6,126
    6,963
    622
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    6,126
    Likes Received:
    6,963
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    I was thinking.. could a user create a GAMES/PS3ISO folder on a BD-R and just put a game on there and run it like a normal game from app home? I know its not quite as good and it still requires a backup manager, but it should work at least.
     
  6. 3,065
    2,979
    372
    Joonie

    Joonie Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    2,979
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Southwest US
    That should not work as almost all backup managers remap app_home to dev_bdvd which is where the game is loaded from.
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  7. 5,092
    2,334
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:
    Why not just split your ISO files? Allows you to use FAT32 for best support and gets rid of the pesky 4gb limitation. But you can make the folder into ISO with PC tools and burn to even DVDR if it fits. But as joonie said if the games works it's hit or miss.
     
    Niander466 and snkplkn like this.
  8. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    As far as i know, Multiman doesn't support ISOs or split ISOs for that matter. But other backup managers do.

    Can i split game folders (not ISOs) using some prog like like split4g on my PC and put onto USB drive. Will Multiman detect the game?
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2019
  9. 5,092
    2,334
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:

    multiMAN supports both just fine bud. Put it into mMCM mode not normal multiMAN and ISO works fine but runs prepNTFS first and your all set.

    And slipt4g works but it copies the files to the internal HDD to play and recombine the files.
     
  10. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    I am on standard CFW. mmcm is Cobra mode. Isnt it? Can i run mmcm mode on non cobra cfw?
     
  11. 5,092
    2,334
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Wanna-BeTA Tester Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MCU/Sony Enthusiast!
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:

    You can run mMCM and standard multiMAN mode with MAMBA or why not go to a Cobra CFW? Heck even HEN users have this support
     
  12. 134
    31
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    32
    okay i will try. Thanks.
     
    atreyu187 likes this.
  13. 1
    0
    5
    VyperS_702

    VyperS_702 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Multiman not only can use split files, it will split them for you if you rip the game to a usb drive.
     

Share This Page