PS3 searching forums for hours

Discussion in 'PS3 Homebrew' started by odin82740, Feb 5, 2019.

1. 20
    odin82740

odin82740 Forum Noob

so I just got into the homebrew aspect of the ps3 imanaged to put the latest rebug cfw on my system it was running 4.82 I have followed all the videos and step by step instructions and everytime I try to load a ps2 or ps3 game it will either not allow me to write it from the usb or it will open back up to xmb I am not a total noob I have been running retro pie smoothly for about a year but this is a bit more complicated any help would be appreciated

2. 178
    FmTGamer

FmTGamer Member

working
    ps3 games have to be installed on the internal hdd

3. 20
    odin82740

odin82740 Forum Noob

yes I realize this I have used the usb to transfer only I have also used ftp neither are allowing me to open the game files

4. 6,126
    DeViL303

DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

Part-Time XMB Modder
    That was a typo, He means PS2 games need to be ran from internal. PS3 and PS1 games can run from external. Make sure you have latest Rebug toolbox installed and Cobra enabled in the toolbox. Also you could try some different backup managers if you having issues with one, Managunz is meant to be good for PS2 games.

Note not all PS2 games will run on a non BC PS3, and lots of games need config files to run on newer PS3s, do some research into those. Managunz will help with auto applying configs for lots of games.

For PS3 games, Cobra Firmware with games in ISO format has best compatibility.

Coldheart2236 likes this.
  5. 20
    odin82740

odin82740 Forum Noob

ok so maybe I wasn't clear enough with my post let me run through a few things
    I have isos running for psx not much of an issue
    playstation 2 will boot up to the ps2 screen but never start the game
    ps3 wont run at all