PS2 Shaky text in the GUI and in-game while using component cables and scart

Discussion in 'Open PS2 Loader (OPL)' started by Iraito, Dec 2, 2019.

  1. 6
    2
    7
    Iraito

    Iraito Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Guys i get shaky text in the GUI and in-game while using component cables and scart.

    I'm using the latest version as of now.
     
  2. 1,219
    660
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Component and SCART... Spot the error!
     
    Peppe90 likes this.
  3. 6
    2
    7
    Iraito

    Iraito Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Thank god the problem was neither, i just had to activate accurate reads for those games, everything looks perfect now, shinobi shakes a lot without those options.

    Next time i would refrain from answering with such contempt, it doesn't really help anyone.
     
  4. 1,219
    660
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    You are interpreting something onto letters on a screen...
    ...which is, what you just did... lol

    On another note: You also mentioned, that the GUI flickers which can not be fixed by any game-mode, so you should have clarified that you meant only the in-game-stuff and not "GUI and in-game" (which really makes it seem as if the problem also happens in the OPL-GUI)...


    Glad you solved your problem anyway and thanks for reporting back, what caused the issue!
     
  5. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    From which device are you running Shinobi? It's PAL or NTSC version?
     
    TnA likes this.
  6. 6
    2
    7
    Iraito

    Iraito Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    I am sorry if you found me contemptuous but i have been told so many times in the past that cables are the issue when instead it was something else, that i normally get defensive; it's still important to specify that the answer you gave me didn't really help.

    PS: The problem is there even with the OPL-GUI
     
  7. 6
    2
    7
    Iraito

    Iraito Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    PAL console, PAL game, the problem was present at both 50Hz and 60Hz, mode selection solved the issue for the game, the menu is still flickery.
     
  8. 1,219
    660
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    I don't see you... I don't know, how you reacted.

    No problem!
    Facts are welcome in any case!

    That's weird! Have you tried any other Video-Mode?!?
    Please try another VMode!
     
  9. 6
    2
    7
    Iraito

    Iraito Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    I tried earlier today, only the hdtv setting stopped the flickering if i remember correctly, i need to test them all one by one to be sure about the video options that solved the issue
     
  10. 1,219
    660
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Hm... Maybe it (your screen) doesn't like SD-i-Signals via component!
     
  11. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    What about the device (HDD, USB, ETH)??

    At 50HZ (PAL) is normal to have some flickering on patterns like the one of OPL GUI, at least on traditional CRTs (even in NTSC 60hz is slightly noticeable, but much better than 50).

    If I understood correctly you are not connected with component but with a "composhit" cable! The one with 3 RCA (Yellow, white, red) that you connected to a SCART adapter. If it's the case, you should definitely get a SCART-RGB cable for Playstation. You'll have a 10 times better picture quality.

    I have Shinobi on internal HDD, never had any flicker problem. I'll check if I have some MODE enabled.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
    TnA likes this.
  12. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    I guess your hdtv setting is a LCD… You won't manage to make it flickering in any way due to the panel functioning (LCD panels don't have a actual refresh rate. No picture decay time between frames, so no flickering).

    EDIT: Sorry I misunderstood, I thought you tested the Ps2 on another different tv. So you're Always been on LCD, right??
     
    TnA likes this.
  13. 1,219
    660
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Yerp, I thought of him using compos(h)ite as well!

    Component-Cables + SCART-Adapter reaks/smells of issues to begin with, so it was probably not "Component", but "Composite"!
     
    Peppe90, Algol and jolek like this.
  14. 1,507
    1,195
    347
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Component:
    [​IMG]

    Composite:
    [​IMG]
     
    Peppe90, Algol and TnA like this.
  15. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Indeed I liked your post 'cause I thought you understood here:

    But then you replied with this:

    lol
     
  16. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    It's important to correctly name cables for avoid misunderstanding, since also the scart adaptor for component exists:



    But afaik there are only a few CRT models that supports component signals from SCART input (I don't know about new digital TVs, but I think no one supports it).

    @Iraito I checked Shinobi SCES_514.28 (you same version, since there is only one PAL version of this game). I have it on internal HDD with all settings at default (all MODES OFF, UDMA 4), it works like a charm, there isn't any kind of flickering (and there never was with any OPL version, 'cause I played this game on OPL since 0.9.3 rev. Always without any issue).

    I think your flickering problem is not related to OPL MODES (MODE 1 ON/OFF shouldn't make any difference, unless you didn't meant flickering but stuttering)
     
  17. 1,219
    660
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Yes, because I had the feeling that he might even use a YUV-SCART-Adapter! They look quite similar to the Composite-Adapters!

    Actually... I had seen this kind of 'blurryness + flickering' on an LCD before!
    I suggest trying another VMode really (both: in-game & in OPL's GUI)!
    Some screens do have issues on various modes!
    If he had "game-mode" on (low lag/latency, but less or no frame interpolation), that certainly could be a reason!

    THX @jolek for the pictures!
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
    Peppe90 likes this.
  18. 6
    2
    7
    Iraito

    Iraito Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    I'm using a COMPONENT cable and all my consoles use scart RGB, plus i use an upscaler\line doubler like the OSSC, i checked on a CRT and the shaky text is present there too while using scart RGB so it's probably an OPL issue.
     
    TnA and Peppe90 like this.
  19. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    It could be like a shelling, a "sandy effect" that reminds to a flicker effect. If it's actually a flickering (exactly like on a CRT) then I think the cable is the main defendant.
     
  20. 745
    364
    97
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry for the misunderstanding.

    As I said on most CRTs the flickering is normal on OPL GUI (just with a HD or a progressive one you may avoid it, depending on raster speed / phosphor decay time relation, since depending on the phosphors type you can have different decay times...).

    About the LCD it's difficult to judge without seeing it. Assuming that cables are good, it could be a misinterpration of your external upscaler, it may have problems with some of the OPL-GUI resolutions.

    You said the issue disappeared with certain resolution settings, right??
     
    TnA likes this.

Share This Page