Snes Classic Power Cable

Discussion in 'Retro' started by pinky, Apr 21, 2019.

  1. 11,981
    4,786
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,981
    Likes Received:
    4,786
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I bought a 15ft micro to usb cable, and for some reason, it doesn't work with the snes classic. if I plug it into my thumb drive adapter (contains all roms and also powers the system), the power goes on, then off. if I plug the cable directly into the system, I get the hakchi logo, then a red screen. I tried the original cable with and without the adapter. without the adapter, it turns on with all games present and they work. with the adapter, all games (tested family feud, lol) work. has anyone gotten a different cable to work with the snes classic. the power cable is way too short.
     
  2. 79
    53
    17
    xxxmarioxxx

    xxxmarioxxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Had similar problem with a linux SBC where the system will freeze randomly. Turned out the usb cable is too thin and won't deliver the required current. You can install a battery monitoring software on an old android phone and see how much current the cable can supply.
     
    pinky likes this.
  3. 11,981
    4,786
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,981
    Likes Received:
    4,786
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    so you think it's the gauge of the cable? you don't think that NIntendo made it to where it can only read the orig9inal cable? it wouldn't be the first time. I read that third party docks for the switch has lead to several bricks after a certain firmware update. that's why I bought the official dock, to use downstairs while the original dock was upstairs, from nintendo's online store. hmm...
     
  4. 11,981
    4,786
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,981
    Likes Received:
    4,786
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I found one cable and ac adapter that works (10ft). I've got everything set up.

    I don't use retroarch much, but I found that you can make the image fill the screen (which I'd prefer). the default emulator, "canoe," doesn't have this option. trials of mana is the only game I have setup this way, so I'm going to reflash the system. iirc, from when I changed trials of mana to use emulator snes9x 2010, you only need to flash the thumb drive.

    btw, the game "toys" on the snes sucks big time. lol!

    edit: I found a bug with hakchi. it sorts games into folders based on the title name. well, one of them is out of order, and there's no way to move it on the system itself.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2019

Share This Page