Start PS2ISO from external HDD

Discussion in 'Utilities' started by Orion, Dec 29, 2015.

  1. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    [Not Working]Start PS2ISO from external HDD

    This is a plugin that i have developer to start iso PS2 from external HDD

    [​IMG]

    This is the source link and this is the installer

    Tutorial
    - Copy ps2 isos in a PS2ISO folder,in a usb device FAT32
    - Connect this device the first usb port of PS3(dev_usb000)
    - Install and start the onstaller
    - Now you can load PS2 Isos from external usb devices using backup manager(Multiman or iris forks) or Webman
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2015
  2. 125
    0
    25
    Metion

    Metion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Nice! Can you give us an insight on how it works?
     
  3. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    Yes it Simply redirect the folder "dev_hdd0 / PS2ISO" to that of external hd

    Code:
    sys_map_path("/dev_hdd0/PS2ISO", "/dev_usb000/PS2ISO");
    the rest of the work is done by the backup manager and the patch cobra

    I tested it on CFW 4.46 Rogero Cobra 7.2 and CFW 4.76.1 Rebug Cobra 7.1 and all my Ps2 Games works very well
     
  4. 234
    120
    72
    Rudi Rastelli

    Rudi Rastelli Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Wow... nice job man !

    Do you think it can be expanded so u can also load ps2-isos from ps3netsrv ?

    Regards
    Rudi
     
  5. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    I think that this is possiblebut i dont use ps3netserv
    [MENTION=89]aldostools[/MENTION] do you think that thi is possible?
     
  6. 7,548
    5,646
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,548
    Likes Received:
    5,646
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Long time ago i asked some dev (don't remember which one) that is possible to do this by using syscall 35 and he said there must be done a lot more than simple redirect. But like we can see he was wrong. :) Good job [MENTION=17]Orion[/MENTION]
     
  7. 234
    120
    72
    Rudi Rastelli

    Rudi Rastelli Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Yep... would be a nice option in webMAN_Mod to select location of PS2ISO-folder
     
  8. 100
    4
    27
    Bad Jester

    Bad Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Thank you [MENTION=17]Orion[/MENTION].
    Where can I send a donation?
     
  9. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    Very thanks but my work is not for money
    For me is important the evolution of the ps3 scene :)
     
    Evil Nemesis and Metalomeus like this.
  10. 799
    238
    72
    No0bZiLLa

    No0bZiLLa Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    72
    next up, network loading ;D
     
  11. 3,178
    5,134
    522
    aldostools

    aldostools Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,178
    Likes Received:
    5,134
    Trophy Points:
    522
    I think you asked me... I tried that mapping long time ago, but I got a black screen as I get now too...

    It's very interesting that Orion can get the PS2ISOs launch from USB... unfortunately I couldn't get my PS2ISO launch properly adding the following code to webMAN:
    Code:
    {sys_map_path((char*)"/dev_hdd0/PS2ISO", (char*)"/dev_usb000/PS2ISO");}
    The game is detected by webMAN, mounted as a Disc icon on XMB, but when I launch it I get a black screen and have to reboot using the power button...

    Could someone confirm if this plugin really works?


    I don't think PS2 ISOs can be mounted through ps3netsvr or ntfs... the ISOs need a plugin running in background that act as proxy between the game and Cobra.
    When a PS2 game is started, VSH is unloaded and all the VSH plugins too.

    I also tried to mount PSP ISOs from ps3netsvr without success... I even tried to mount a remote folder as /dev_bdvd then mount the PSP ISO without unmount /dev_bdvd, but that didn't work either for me.
     
    antonioks likes this.
  12. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    I tested it and also one of my collaborator,it works,a video is in upload
     
  13. 7,548
    5,646
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,548
    Likes Received:
    5,646
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    TBH i didn't tried that plugin on PS3 but from feedback it look like is working. And yeah, i then asked probably you or joonie.
     
  14. 3,980
    1,978
    297
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,980
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    I know I asked [MENTION=89]aldostools[/MENTION] one time or another and he tried it but couldn't get it to go with webMAN

    sent from here to there using Tapatalk
     
  15. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    I understand the problem, when I did the test the iso were also present on the internal HDD as well as on the external hdd so when I went to load the iso is playing, that of the internal hd ....... that big mess
    I sang victory too soon ... I'm sorry for the great uproar created
    Very sprry to all but this plugin can't load ps2 iso from external hdd
     
  16. 11,586
    4,500
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11,586
    Likes Received:
    4,500
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yes, the issue is that syscall 35 remaps games' original locations to that of the external hdd or any other location on the internal hdd (i.e. Deank remapping dev_hdd0/game to dev_usb000/gamei). because ur spoofing one location for another, u can never have the system reading more than one directory as the spoofed location at the same time. once the ps2 emulator is loaded, the spoofed location is reset, so it'll try to boot from the game's original location which is y it seemingly worked. if there's no game present in that location, u'll get a black screen. I don't know if there's anyway around this, because the install location is hardcoded in the system. maybe if there was a way to force the install location (i.e. changing to the spoofed location allows for pkg files to be installed to the spoofed location (dev_usb000/game) rather than its original location (dev_hdd0/gamei), because as it stands now, games r listed as being installed to dev_hdd0/game within the system's metadata file, so even if u switched locations with gamedata tool or ext loader, the system thinks the game installed to dev_hdd0/game. the location is probably changeable, but then u'd have the same issue as before.
     
    antonioks likes this.
  17. 344
    34
    57
    Orion

    Orion Gamesonic Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    /dev_hdd0/game/GMANAGER9
    I tried to include the plug-in code in stage2.bin, but same story, the ISO ps2 not start from USB
     
  18. 135
    49
    57
    MixeryMaxe

    MixeryMaxe Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Occupation:
    Roofer
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe it's not only a path problem.
    As far as i know, PS2 games dont work if they require an usb devices (usb device dont work).
    No access to USB?
     
  19. 7,548
    5,646
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,548
    Likes Received:
    5,646
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    PS2 emu need kind of proxy that aldo mentioned here. Every iop device need translation from ps2 to ps3. On HW emu most of this is done, GX emu lack some modules but still good support, net emu (probably) lack of most "fancy" modules like usbd dev9 atad, etc. To bring better compatibility for titles from psn store. I think that problem is that PS2 emulation on PS3 working little bit like PS1 on PS2. Big part of ps3 functions is disabled during emulation. And until someone don't R.E. PS2 emus enough we cant just remap path by vsh plugin. If (ever) we done this this will be probably plugin/hack to PS2 emu code, not for ps3 overall system.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
    antonioks likes this.
  20. 1,076
    1,806
    297
    habib

    habib Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Ps2 commands are send as cfg and vsh arguments
    Lv1 syscalls are available to use
    No usb hdd can be read with original library
    All that for netemu at least
     

Share This Page