PS3 Strange Ps3 Red light problem. NEC / TOKIN maybe

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by ps3xbox, Jan 12, 2020.

  1. 7,699
    8,978
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,699
    Likes Received:
    8,978
    Trophy Points:
    797
    A bad flash could cause that . I do not know a lot about flashing NANDs with progskeet so will let someone else help you.
     
  2. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Ok thanks for the reply
     
  3. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I did flash original back and winskeet showed no errors
    I checked he original with dump checking tool
     
  4. 164
    104
    72
    wrx884

    wrx884 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    have u compared the dump against the original dumps, did it pass? u should have made at least 3 dumps b4 u flashed it just to be sure u had good dumps each time. If thats all good do the tokins on the CPU now, u kinda have nothing to lose doing it anyways.
     
  5. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Hi
    Yes i dumped each nand 4 times
    I checked original with checking tool software and it passed.
    I opened the extracted dump folder and had all the files in there
    When you say do the tokins on the cpu. Do you mean on the same side without the cell and rsx chip. Please

    Some say that do it in pairs like do all the rsx nec TOKIN and put jumper wire or some say just do one side.
    Which one is better
    Please
    Thanks
     
  6. 164
    104
    72
    wrx884

    wrx884 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    yeah man, since u have the other 4 tokins on the other side, u wont need to put a jumper wire in as they will actually be utilised as the jumper wire still.
     
  7. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Not sure do I do the CPU nec tokin first on the side without the CELL and RSX OR do the 2 RSX nec tokins on the other side where the RSX and CELL are exposed

    What do you think
    help
    please
    Thanks
     
  8. 1,894
    1,338
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    1,338
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Start working the Top-Side first, that way is 50/50 spread workload, only if after the Top-Side has been worked with, but the console boots with no avail, you can start working downside.

    My recommendation, replace one NEC, test, and repeat, that will tell you when to call it a day or proceed your replacement.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    ps3xbox likes this.
  9. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Hi
    That sound like a good plan
    I will try and see
    Thanks again
     
  10. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    HI
    All

    Ok so I have replaced the two RSX nec toking and CELL nec tokin on the side where the CELL AND RSX IS NOT exposed and tested it, It seems to try to turn on and I see hard drive activity light blink but does not turn on.

    I tried to put some heat from a hair dryer to the vent and through the fan but no change
    How do I proceed now
    Which ones should I replace next

    Please help all
    So many talented people on here
    Thanks so much in advance
     
  11. 6,439
    6,109
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    6,109
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    The tokins of a side of the motherboard are aligned perfectly with the tokins of the other side of the motherboard.... and have big soldering areas

    So the effect is the heat moves from one side of the mothrboard to the other side of the motherboard very easilly
    In the practise i bet the temperature of the tokins in a side of the motherboard is pretty much the same than the tokins of the other side of the motherboard
    If what im saying is right... the moral of the story is the motherboard side where the tokins are located doesnt matters much

    Is a lot more important to know how many hundreds of hours of usage they had, the tokins doesnt dies because overheating, they dies because the cummulation of hours of use

    So... is better to replace all them... you should start with the ones fro RSX... and the side of the motherboard opposite to the heatsink

    -----------
    Btw Naked_Snake1995 you insist to say the "top side" on PS3 fats is the side opposite to CELL/RSX just because when you open the PS3 that side seems to be at top, but this is not completly correct, what happens is the motherboard in PS3 fats is "flipped" :P
    Top side is actually at bottom (with CELL/RSX and the heatsink)

    To avoid confusion latelly im mentioning the motherboard sides as:
    -The side with CELL/RSX and the heatsink
    -The opposite side of CELL/RSX and the heatsink

    There is no room for mistakes there... because im not even mentioning what is top or bottom :P
    *Also, it makes more obvious the fact some of the tokins are located at the opposite side of the coling parts, and as a consequence they have worts cooling
     
  12. 1,894
    1,338
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    1,338
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    I know, jeez, i just like to say Top-Side to make it easier to understand for less experienced users, although its true that the Side-A is flipped upside down :)
     
  13. 6,439
    6,109
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    6,109
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    In my oppinion the order of reoplacement should be this
    1) RSX tokins located at opposite side of RSX
    2) RSX tokins located next to RSX
    3) At this point you have replaced all the tokins for RSX... and you should add at least 1 wire bridge for RSX
    4) CELL tokins located at opposite side of CELL
    5) CELL tokins located next to CELL
    6) At this point you have replaced all the tokins for CELL... and you should add at least 1 wire bridge for CELL

    Following this order doesnt assures you to find the faulty tokins fast, is just an order based on probability because:
    -RSX power requirement is more inestable than CELL (so the RSX tokins should suffer more)
    -Tokins at the oposite side of the cooling parts are a bit more hotter (but should not be much difference)



    The fact your PS3 was booting when you heated the tokins is very important, and is a good sign that it "should" work by replacing them, nothing assures you that is going to work, but it looks like
     
  14. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Hi
    Some very good points
    Thanks

     
  15. 6,439
    6,109
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    6,109
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Btw, if you made several flash dumps... and all them was identical... and was verifyed by some tool as valid
    Then that dump should be fine, which firmware version is that dump btw ?

    And since you have a flasher installed, and that valid dump... from that point you have full freedom to write whatever "shit" you want in flash
    I mean... there is no risk in writing the flash multiple times.. so dont get stressed with that


    But the annnoying thing is you should desolder the wires of the flasher before booting the PS3
    The problem is that "data" signals of the flash pins are very sensitive to interferences... if you boot the PS3 with the wires connected to the flash pins that long wires are going to cause quality loss in the data signals.... and probably the PS3 is not going to boot

    You have not mentioned if you desoldered the flasher before trying to boot the PS3... but i think you should try it
    Because that sodlers are tricky... instead of desoldering them you could "cut" the wires with scissors (close to the flash chip to make them the most shorter posible)
     
  16. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Hi
    The firmware is on 4.8x something. I dont recall at this momment..
    I used progskeet with solderless clip
    I flashed original back

     
  17. 6,439
    6,109
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    6,109
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Ohh ok with solderless clip, good, remember ro remove the clip before trying to boot the PS3 (and the tristate wire if you used it)

    I asked about the firmware version because when you install a firmware his version is stored in the syscon chip... and the flash dump you are going to restore needs to match with that version inside syscon chip

    As example, if you made the flash dump in 4.84 and then you installed 4.85 the version inside the syscon chip was updated to 4.85. By writing the flash dump made in 4.84 the PS3 is not going to boot
     
  18. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Hi
    Thanks for the reply
    Yes i removed the clip before tying boot. Also didn't use a triststar wire
    If the firmware is different in the syscon chip. How is this fixed

    Also would this cause red light beeping problem
     
  19. 6,439
    6,109
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    6,109
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    To change the version in the flash dump is needed to replace the "ros0" and "ros1" areas
     
  20. 63
    2
    62
    ps3xbox

    ps3xbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Ok thanks but would this cause red light beeping problem.
     

Share This Page