PS2 The chances of having FMCB on my Slim 90004 PS2 now in 2019?

Discussion in 'Free MCBoot' started by NoNAND, Aug 11, 2019.

1. 3
    NoNAND

NoNAND Forum Noob

Hi folks.
    Am a new member that registered with this account on the boards not too long ago, seeking help in softmodding his PS2
    While indeed i am a total noob to this PS2 hacking thing as I've never dealt with a sony console before (save for the PSP) I've done some research on the internet scouring the forums for an regarding freeMCboot ps2 backups, homebrews, mods and stuff of that manner, and I've gained some insight about them.
    Having said that though, some things were a bit misleading. I know that it is a long process of trial and error when it comes to the 90K models with the majority of them not supporting FMCB whilst some lucky ones do depending on the data code and such.
    Now to get to the main part. My PS2 is a stock SCPH-90004 PAL machine that has been bought circa 2008 and given to me by a friend of mine recently.
    The problem lies that the sticker underneath the console js torn and scraped off so unfortunately i can't provide you on any more information save for this screenshot that I took at the PS2s home menu.
    20181020_175308.jpg
    I know none of that string of texts will give me a valid answer determining the current bios of my system whether It's on 2.30 or lower.
    Another issue that i have to face is that i lack the prerequisite hardware/tools necessary to even get the freeMCB exploit menu to show up. and if it doesn't help even more i have no modchip put in it either.
    Have nothing against spending some cash for a pre-flashed memory card with freeMCB, or a swapmagic codebreaker AR and whatnot else but none of them will ship to where i live.. kinds frustrating heh.
    I do own a handful of games if these perhaps help in running any exploit by any means.
    Here's the list of games that i own.
    • Ratchet Gladiator
    • Rayman Revolution
    • Rayman 3