[tut]How to manually update PSTV to 3.60 firmware using USB

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by kozarovv, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. 7,606
    5,756
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,606
    Likes Received:
    5,756
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    This tutorial is basically (much) longer version of official tutorial from www.playstation.com Only difference is that you are downloading and updating to 3.60 firmware instead of latest. And that I pointed all steps after going to recovery menu so you can check what will happen during update process before it happen. Why 3.60? Because is only way to run Henkaku. :)

    1800403_0.png


    The following things are needed to perform the update:


    How to update (PC Side):
    How to update (PSTV side):
    • Turn off your PSTV completely (use power off, not standby)
    • Now push power button and keep it pressed until Recovery Menu will appear (Screen with connect controller prompt).
    • Connect Dualshock 3/4 using USB cable and push PS button
    • Select option number 5. Update System Software
    • Now select Update from USB Storage Device
    • Now you will be prompted to disconnect controller and connect USB drive. Do this.
    • Update file should now be copied to PSTV internal memory (wait until it finish!)
    • Disconnect USB drive and connect Dualshock 3/4 when prompted
    • Now you should see screen with "A new version of system software is available." Version 3.60
    • Select "Next" (blue colored is selected one, grey is not selected), and push X button
    • Read license, or just scroll it to bottom by pushing down on d-pad. And now select "Accept".
    • Now you will be prompted last time that you want to update. So if you are sure that Version is 3.60 and you sure that nothing will interupt update. Select "Update".
    • PSTV now will restart and update process will start, is most important part of update! Power loss can soft brick or even hard brick PSTV!
    • After successful update your PSTV will reboot to LiveArea on 3.60!

    Tip: If your PS TV system does not recognize the update file, check that the folder names and file name are correct. Enter the folder names and file name in single-byte characters using uppercase letters.
     
    UniqueUserName and pinky like this.
  2. 7,606
    5,756
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,606
    Likes Received:
    5,756
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    atreyu187 likes this.
  3. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Hey man thanks I never have an issue with more info. I wrote that when I was first dabbling with the Vita.
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  4. 12,155
    4,907
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,155
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    I've not updated my pstv, but I did update my vita to 3.60. one thing to note about the vita is that if u have the update file in the wrong folder the system will say that u have the latest firmware installed. just putting that out there in case anyone updating their vita manually encounters that issue. :-p
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  5. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    You don't have to press and hold R1 & the PS button prior to the power button on the PSTV to go into recovery like the Vita itself?
     
  6. 12,155
    4,907
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,155
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    no, u can just hold the power button like with the ps3. keeping it pressed will turn on/off the system. then, u'll be in the recovery menu.
     
    atreyu187 likes this.
  7. 7,606
    5,756
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,606
    Likes Received:
    5,756
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    No, just power button. You don't even need to have connected controller until it will prompt.
     
    atreyu187 likes this.
  8. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Always treated it just like the Vita which works as well but thanks for the info
     
  9. 12,155
    4,907
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,155
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    the power button may have been the culprit here @atreyu187. holding it down may have initiated the recovery menu rather than the buttons pressed on the controller.
     
  10. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Yea just meant it doesn't hinder the recovery menu is all. Then again I play with both so much it is out of pure habit. Most users have one or the other. I see no need to discriminate LOL
     
    pinky likes this.
  11. 12,155
    4,907
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,155
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    rub pinky's belly...
     
    atreyu187 likes this.
  12. 3,980
    1,979
    297
    bitsbubba

    bitsbubba Super Moderator / Developer Super Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,980
    Likes Received:
    1,979
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Homicidal Super Moderator
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake, USA
    Home Page:
    So how do you downgrade from 3.61 again?
     
  13. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:

    How the hell did you wind up on 3.61 is my question?
     
  14. 12,155
    4,907
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,155
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    from what I remember, his kid updated to play netflix.
     
  15. 12,155
    4,907
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,155
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    at least it was a pstv instead of a vita though based on cost.
     
  16. 176
    33
    57
    faith genesis raven

    faith genesis raven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    57
    thanks very much for the guide :D
    just used it and all worked well
     
    kozarovv likes this.
  17. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:

    You can now do this from the system using HENkaku Easy Update Server
     
    kozarovv likes this.
  18. 7,606
    5,756
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,606
    Likes Received:
    5,756
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
  19. 2,253
    2,171
    372
    Berion

    Berion Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    rom0:/
    For me it's better offline solution in all cases just because user is not depending on anything which today working and tomorow can stop. Also there is possible hacks by idiots who would replace file on server. ;)
     
  20. 5,829
    2,880
    497
    atreyu187

    atreyu187 Retired Old Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    2,880
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Scholar of Byrgenwerth
    Location:
    Cainhurst Castle
    Home Page:
    Been using it since day one to eliminate accidental updates and IDU mode forced updates. Worst thing happens the DNS servers don't see the updates since there are two of them and even if they were replaced. It will tell you which FW you are installing. But yes this is still totally relevant as not everyone has online capability.
     

Share This Page