PS3 Tutorial - NEC/TOKIN Capacitors Replacement - YLOD FIX

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by Naked_Snake1995, Jul 15, 2019.

  1. 9
    7
    7
    Sampsonay

    Sampsonay Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes i only replaced 4 tokins on top of the board. I covered the tantalums with heatshrink tubing material however the metal shield pressed very hard against them, probably more so than usual because some capacitors were sitting crooked. Here's a pic
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 437
    56
    82
    Md Hesam

    Md Hesam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Home Page:
    What means ps3 super slim shutdown after 5 secondsitself but psu ok?
     
  3. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    I will post pictures later today since my heat sinks and thermal pads show up later today
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2019
  4. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Interesting.
    One thing that is new about the replacement Tantalums is that they are around .5mm taller then the original NECs.
    See when I replaced 2 NECs last week I didn’t need to modify the metal shield. after I did all of the NECs I needed to cut up the shield, I also used black electrical tape to cover the Tantalums.

    good work btw, I hope your ps3 lasts years to come. (you definitely should do the rest of the NECs though)
     
  5. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Just Ordered a CECHA01 with the YLOD on eBay. i hope i will be able to fix it and to truly see if the NECs can fix even a random YLOD PS3 online.
     
  6. 13
    12
    7
    AluCarD3939

    AluCarD3939 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    how much did you pay for that ps3 ?
     
  7. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright so I replaced the thermal pads on my CECHB01 system. The heat sinks where too big but I don’t think they were needed on the Grey Caps.
    I played GTA IV for around 10 minutes and I noticed the CELL runs 6•C more then usual(more then my last test). I also noticed the EE+GS side of the system(under the curve of the shell) that it’s a bit warmer then it was before with 50% fan speed, and it is also a bigger surface area now. so idk if by making the thermal pad bigger I increased the heat since the old pad was just in the middle of the chip.

    Anyways here are the photos of the shield after I cut it.
    @Naked_Snake1995 @sandungas
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 4, 2019
    sandungas likes this.
  8. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    $30USD Total
     
  9. 1,724
    1,197
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Honestly why i need pictures of the EMI Sheild lad? I just asked for your wiring Tantalum work, thats all so i can analyse what you did there, not to mention its blocked by the Electrical tape, board pictures there are plenty.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
  10. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh sorry...

    will be repasting it later so I’ll probably do that then. Pulled off the tape earlier and a cap came off because the tape was so strong on it.

    EDIT: as I wrote this to you my ps3 froze and I reboot it and it did this :( great...
    Now it has the GLOD ugh now i gotta check the caps...

    Just checked the caps and they look/feel fine... so is it heat? why did it freeze after i played GTA 5 and opened TempMON and it froze then it gave me the static red dots again

    Put it back together and booted up GTA V and it froze after 20 seconds in game. i made sure little to no pressure was on the Tantalums
    i turned off the system now it wont even display picture. it has something to do with pressure again... i have no idea how to fix it this time since there really isnt any pressure on both sides
    i feel like giving up on this system tbh
    @sandungas
    here’s the photos of my wiring since I just took it apart
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 4, 2019
  11. 88
    28
    67
    Fanhais

    Fanhais Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    your rsx is dying, tantalum cap don't go to solve gpu artifacts because memories of rsx are faulty​
     
  12. 5,925
    5,601
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,601
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Dunno, but whatever is happening is related with he RSX, that visual artifacts of your last photo are very typical
     
  13. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Highly Unlikely that the RSX is the issue

    the wires are so thick that ANY pressure on them from even the retention Brackets are causing issues and these artifacts are from pressure of the CELL Wire
    i may redo my work and try out the X method that a user poster earlier and have the bridge wire be straight across as seen in the other users post.
    GTA 5 ran fine
    only thing weird was how i quit GTA 5 from the XMB in game screen and opened TempMON and it froze the system in the Homebrew app then i rebooted when it gave me the red spot screen as seen in one of my last photos
     
  14. 6
    0
    5
    Coaleb

    Coaleb Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So do we need to bridge both the top and bottom of the motherboard?
     
  15. 1,724
    1,197
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Ill have to agree with the lads on this one, your RSX Substrate its about to fail, now the question is when is going to fail?

    Usually systems that get the GLOD from a faulty GPU don't come back to life, unless you reflow the RSX or replace it, due to the substrate failure within the GPU itself,this is why i always recommend deliding the RSX and keep it as cool as possible, its more important than the CELL B/E itself.

    GPU artifacts come and go, usually it can go away, but eventually it will come back, one little test you can do, its pick a heat-gun, just for diagnostics, and heat the RSX Chip at approximately 150°Cs for a 5 min mark, this will make sure the substrate makes proper contact with the Chip Die, thus eliminating any artifacts present, but eventually it will come back, and if it does then the RSX is the problem, you'll need to find a 90nm donor to replace the faulty one, ive seen the RSX artifacting on many Backwards Compatible machines, some more heavy artifacting than others, such as corrupted XMB wave, incorrect colour palet, flickering screen and many others,but you can recheck the Tantalums on the RSX area again,but i don't think you've done a bad solder job to detach that easily.

    You can also Delid the RSX and replace the thermal paste underneath, this also can Fix GPU artifacting if is a light artifacting due to thermal stress, which upon replacement it should go away,but its not guaranteed.



    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
  16. 1,724
    1,197
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Yes, just like the example in the Tutorial, i thought ive done it wrong, but its exactly as the lad did, just make sure you use a high gauge wire, and bridge each pair of Tantalums on they're positive side, if you replace them all at once of course.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
  17. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Honestly you may be right and I’m in denial.

    BUT it doesn’t explain how it fails to work until I relive pressure off the CELL/RSX Tantalums. I switched back to the old thin wires I used last week and they work fine my solderjob was poor on the last attempt.
    Whenever I remove my electrical tape off the Tantalums it is like glue and it usually takes one cap off. I’ve resolderd all the Tantalums maybe the board is that weak?
    And how before I replaced all the NECs I NEVER had this issue at all.
    I rebuilt database using pwr buttons since it GLOD on me and it disabled webMAN and I don’t like using it for long without fan because the CELL gets to 80•C in a minute
    The RSX stays cool though
    Anyways I still don’t think the GPU is failing something else is going on
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
  18. 75
    14
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    I also would like to say this
    Pls don’t remove all the NECs unless you absolutely have too...
     
  19. 6
    0
    5
    Coaleb

    Coaleb Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    What high gauge wire do you recommend?
     
  20. 1,724
    1,197
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    Why is that? You can remove all of them, in fact it makes your repair and life easier, you do a one time full replacement and never touch the machine again, as with Partial replacement, you'll have to worry when your machine its going to die again, so you can replace one more NEC again.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    Fin9ersMcGee likes this.

Share This Page