PS3 Tutorial - NEC/TOKIN Capacitors Replacement - YLOD FIX

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by Naked_Snake1995, Jul 15, 2019.

  1. 154
    108
    47
    VTSTech

    VTSTech Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    It works! (After replacing the other top one)

    I've been in and out of it so many times thou, thermal paste is crap. Gonna give that another application and see how it does.

    UPDATE: CPU still running hot...but it's running. :) w\60% Fan it Idles at 72C.... lil hot for my taste but it seems stable so far.

    UPDATE2: Today it's idling at 61C, put a few more screws in it since I'm not gonna be inside it much now that it's working.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 14, 2019 at 11:45 AM
    Revak3115, sandungas and littlebalup like this.
  2. 65
    13
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2019 at 11:41 PM
  3. 5,001
    4,436
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,436
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    AluCarD3939 and Algol like this.
  4. 4
    0
    5
    Kornmeal

    Kornmeal Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah no it's totally toast, didnt realize how much I had damaged. Luckily, the system had only cost me $20...

    Fortunately, the one I just got in is a CECHA01, I'm gonna try some other more careful methods this time around, I was a bit too excited to get a better fix than something that would only last a few months.

    Any recommendations on how to remove the capacitors? Soldering iron still the best way?
     
  5. 2,528
    1,176
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    1,176
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Your funny lad.... I don't watch really Horror films anymore as the modern ones are sh!t compared to the old ones> Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th, the shining etc. The only new one I remotely liked was the the new IT and even that is crap compared to the old one. Or the Silnet Hill films. Horror directors and writers have no imagination anymore and more or less copy eachother or rip off older films on one way or the other. And the Resident Evil films are more or less just action shoot'em ups but there ok.

    Also I hate Netflix ... it's sh!t lol.

    I have a horror film for you to watch live..... for free...... " The Mutalation of Snakes BC PS3's....:oie 19113229e8ymug9p:Cypher Strikes Back...." I think you would love to watch that.....:rolling::rolling::rolling:
     
  6. 65
    13
    12
    Revak3115

    Revak3115 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    So then this would be fine? https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetai...2QGsKpvcg6n3J/lz87fU6nPnGx8n3wb4f6S/qCz5exA==
     
  7. 5,001
    4,436
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,436
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Basically, is needed to overheat the area, the problem is that heat is dependant of how many metal is connected to the point you are heating
    In general... ground points needs more heat because the ground lines are always big areas of metal
    Here also the voltage lines are connected to lot of vias (holes) that tranfers the heat to the other side of the motherboard, and to internal layers (all made with copper)

    So yeah... i never did this myself, but just by looking at the images im sure it needs lot of heat, thats the tricky part

    Also, check some of the photos posted by people... it can be seen how some of the tokins was removed before the tin was completly melted... thats very risky because you can lift (or break) a copper trace by pulling from the tokins

    *This problem can be identifyed because it can be seen the shape of the tokin in the tin... it means the tin was not completly liquid

    You know... the materials have 4 states... liquid, solid, gas and plasma
    In betweem them there are intermediate states... like a "semisolid" where the tin is like a paste
    If you pull from the tokin when the tin is in "semisolid" state you dont know the results, the only safe way is to pull from it when the tin is completly liquid... but as mentioned before for some of you this is going to be hard to achieve because is needed lot of heat

    Tip: If you have 2 solder irons try use both together
    Tip2: Add lot of tin (and i mean... a lot) over the factory tin to change his melting point
    Tip3: Flux ftw

    Yes, is fine
    You are buying them in expensive brands and places btw, as i mentioned before (in general) the capacitors are not considered important components, and there is a wide range of values aceptable if need to replace one

    As example, you can replace a capacitor that originally was 5v by other with 12v, or a capacitor with 700uf by another with 1000uf... or both things together a capacitor originaly 5v @ 700uf by another with 12v @ 1000uf
    Im not sure if there is some exception to that, but i did it with monitors, tv's, PC power supplies and PC procesors, and my experience is that always works

    So... the point is... if you already have some capacitors at your home (recycled from other device or because you bought them time ago for other stuff but never used them) then is fine to try with different values (always bigger)
    But if you are going to buy them is better to match the factory values

    In this case the original voltage of the tokins is 2.5v so if you are going to buy them... yeah there is no doubt, 2.5v wins
    About the capacitance... well... in the way you are soldering them (4 tantalums for each tokin) you need to equal or surpass a total capacitance of 1200uf (because this was the original value of everyone of your tokins)... so you can do it with... 330uf * 4 = 1320uf
    Thats good enought, actually is a bit over the original 1200uf and thats fine

    But if you use 4 * 470uf = 1880uf
    Im not telling that doesnt works, we know it works, but is not needed, actually if you really want to use 470uf you can do it with 3 * 470 = 1410uf
    This will make the solder job easyer because you only need to solder 3 tantalum capacitors for every tokin... but again is not needed

    *Also keep in mind you have 4 tokins connected together for CELL.... and another 4 tokins for RSX, so when doing the calculations we need to multiply by 4 to get the total capacitance, as example, your PS3 from factory was using:
    1200uf + 1200uf + 1200uf + 1200uf = 4800uf for CELL
    1200uf + 1200uf + 1200uf + 1200uf = 4800uf for RSX

    And you was replacing them by:
    (4 * 470uf) + (4 * 470uf) + (4 * 470uf) + (4 * 470uf) = 7520uf for CELL
    (4 * 470uf) + (4 * 470uf) + (4 * 470uf) + (4 * 470uf) = 7520uf for RSX

    See the difference ? is huge 7520 - 4800 = 2720 extra (added by you, but not needed)

    In my oppinion the "hotspot" is in 2.5v @ 330uf ...one of the reasons is because are cheapests, to make this repair is needed to buy a bunch of them so this is important
    The 2.5v @ 470uf are fine though, all depends of how are you going to solder them... the suggestions made by littlebalup was interesting, there are several available :)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019 at 12:09 AM
    AluCarD3939, Algol and Revak3115 like this.
  8. 3
    2
    7
    cfreddykrueger

    cfreddykrueger Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Has anyone else been watching YouTube videos watching people replace the Nec/Tokin capacitors on the Toshiba L330 and L730 laptops just to get a feel for what it will look like? Lol probably just me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Fin9ersMcGee and DeViL303 like this.
  9. 669
    475
    122
    Fin9ersMcGee

    Fin9ersMcGee Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Occupation:
    Musician
    Location:
    UK
    Soooooo....

    I screwed up... A bit.
    Removed 2 NEC from Cell, 2 from RSX.
    The last one I took off I guess I pulled a bit too hard and ripped the tracer off (no metal connection, just white PCB.
    20190818_064529.jpg

    But I at least had some practise and soldered 6 caps onto the other 2 NEC spaces.

    20190818_064536.jpg

    I'm wondering now though... As the NECs are wired in parralel, might I be able to solder onto the available tracers and not use the one I ripped off...?

    This has made me realise that my soldering skills are pretty poor haha
     
  10. 5,001
    4,436
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,436
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Yes, it should work, the trace you ripped is the line most at top-right corner in this photo i guess ?
    I painted it on top to see that are very big areas... in some of them is needed to scratch the green varnish to expose the copper, but there are a lot of "alternative" solder points
    Also, keep in mind if you flip the motherboard, at the other side you have pretty much the same
    [​IMG]

    Have you made some test about heights with the metal shield in his place ?, in the photos it looks the tantalum capacitors are a bit higher (because there was lot of solder in the copper before you started soldering them)
    To prevent that is good to use "desoldering braid" (or "desoldering wick", same stuff) to clean up the area before starting soldering
    [​IMG]
    Im posting a photo of a legit product (is not just copper, it has some powder in between the braid that does some chemical magic)... but you can do this for free at home with normal wires... you know is needed a wire like that, made with lot of thin threads... like the shielding used by the cables for TV antennas or things like that

    Edit:
    I mean... this kind of cables (typically used in TV antennas) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coaxial_cable
    The external shield (marked as B) is a braid of copper... and is pretty much the same than the "desolder braid"
    If you have a cable like this at home you can use his braid to cleanup solder works... is not as good as the "desolder braid", but it will work
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2019 at 4:56 AM

Share This Page