PS3 Tutorial - NEC/TOKIN Capacitors Replacement - YLOD FIX

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by Naked_Snake1995, Jul 15, 2019.

  1. 5,925
    5,599
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    I was not sure which name to use for them, but the name "stands off" fits well with his purpose :encouragement:
    Are used as a helper at factory when the machines assembles the CELL/RSX, this way the machines doesnt needs to calculate that disntance preciselly... is mostly like "push it until it touches the bumper"
    And i think are very helpful incase of an overheating, because the pressure made by the heatsink assembly is very big, and in the overheats when the tin is semisolid could happen deformations (at microscope), but this "stand offs" prevents it

    For the reballings i guess is better to keep them, not sure how annoying could be for reballing, but are good... lets say... are a feature :D

    This is an awesome idea btw, now im reading you and im facepalming for not figuring it myself, lol
    As you said it should work unless there is some tokin in internal short (but this is easy to rule out with a multimeter)
    You should add a note about this trick in the tutorial @Naked_Snake1995

    And btw, thanks also to @Tupakaveli we know if the tokins are "opened" it shows another YLOD
    He mentioned it in this post
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/t...eplacement-ylod-fix.25260/page-28#post-209830
    His PS3 was working fine when he replaced the tokins of a side of the motherboard with tantalums, and at the next day he decided to replace the tokins at the other side (good decission btw, a decent repair implyes replacing all them)... but he forgot to add the bridge wire ;)
     
    wrx884, Tupakaveli and SiegHart93 like this.
  2. 71
    22
    62
    SiegHart93

    SiegHart93 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    When u replace all tokins in both sides of the board , the bridge wire is supposed to be in bottom or top of the board ? or in both sides?
     
  3. 5,925
    5,599
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    The fact is in the electrical circuit all the tokins of a side of the motherboard are connected directly with the other tokins of the other side, is like this:
    Power rail ---> 4 tokins (2 at top, and 2 at bottom) ---> RSX
    Power rail ---> 4 tokins (2 at top, and 2 at bottom) ---> CELL

    So forget about what is top and what is bottom... what matters here is what is CELL and what is RSX ;)

    The only difference in between top and bottom is what some people have mentioned before... the tokins at bottom (opposite side of components) doesnt have an active cooling, so they overheats more along all his life, so are more prone to failure by overheats
    But... we dont know if are dying by overheat (most probably but we are not sure)

    The RSX goes first, his tokins are more prone to failure because the demanding voltage peaks of RSX varies a lot more than CELL
    This can be deduce indirectly by looking at the temperature ingame... while you are playing the CELL has a more constant workload... but RSX varyes a lot
    That variation in RSX heat is an indirect proof that his voltage requirements are varying too

    But remember... RSX have 2 tokins at top of the motherboard and another 2 at bottom

    The 2 RSX tokins at bottom (the ones that overheats more) goes first, then the other 2 tokins for RSX to complete his group of 4 tokins

    After that you should make a test to see if the problem is fixed... then move to CELL and do the same

    Is mandatory if you replace the 4 tokins for either CELL or RSX

    The tokins have that bridge internally, if you keep at least 1 tokin (from the group of 4) then you dont need the bridge wire

    It doesnt matters what you use, the point is you need to equal (or exceed a bit) the original capacitance of the group of 4 tokins

    4 tokins of 0E108 makes a total of 4000 uf
    4 tokins of 0E128 makes a total of 4800 uf

    By destroying them carefully :D
    In this thread there is a talk where we was talking about it, i agree with everything @jacobsson @wrx884 said, they explained it better than me :)
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/ps3-cechg-nlod.26640/#post-210783

    Is like removing tiny SMD leds... if you try to remove it without damaging the led is a waste of time, when you get close with the solder iron the plastic transparent material of the led breaks, so is imposible
    the best thing you can do is to burn the madrefocker with the solder iron, then cleanup the burned plastic and residues, and then drop a huge ball of solder tin in top of it, this is going to work for sure, and is safe because the motherboard can handle that amount of heat without problems

    No, but mostly because you need a lot of them... in a PC motherboard you are not going to find so many

    If you have problems to find the tantalum capacitors i guess you could use electrolitic capacitors (the standard ones)
    This ones have a lot more capacitance, and are easy to find in PC motherboards, since pentinum 4 you are going to find a bunch around the CPU socket, and are rated up to 1500uf or so (very good for his size)
    The problem incase of using this type of electrolitic capacitors is there is no room for them inside the "sandwich" of the metal shields that covers the PS3 motherboard, but well maybe you could make some mod in the metal shield (cuts, or holes, or whatever)
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
    SiegHart93 and wrx884 like this.
  4. 230
    140
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    I can't seem to catch a break. My newly arrived CECHA unit is RLOD, not YLOD :hopelessness:
     
    Edwired likes this.
  5. 103
    30
    32
    Edwired

    Edwired Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Thought someone on another forum it impossible to get a reading when the nec tokin was in circuit
     
  6. 230
    140
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    You will never get a proper reading of capacitance, but resistance will reveal any dead shorts.
     
    Edwired likes this.
  7. 5,925
    5,599
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    It doesnt matters, next to the tokins (where are soldered the positive voltages) there are a lot of vias (holes) that connects both sides of the motherboard, so is like a single piece of copper that connects the tokins at both sides of the motherboard

    Electrically is only needed 1 wire for every group of 4 tokins
    In other words... 1 wire tor CELL... and 1 wire for RSX
    That wire is who carries the positive voltage to CELL/RSX

    For safety reasons (or because they never thought in doing it in a different way) there is people that uses 2 wires for each... and ive seen people that uses 4 wires for each
    But dunno... i think is better with 1 wire each because is more simple, just use a thick wire for it (single core preferably)
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
    Edwired likes this.
  8. 5,925
    5,599
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Well, if you meassure a capacitor "incircuit" you are going to have a reading, but that reading is composed by:
    -the capacitor itself
    -the capacitance of the circuit
    -the capacitance of other components next to the capacitor you are meassuring

    Incase the capacitor is ok... the resulting value should be always bigger than the capacitor
    But thats all you are going to get, and we cant deduce much from it

    Also, as i was mentioning in the PS3 the tokins are soldered together in paralell in groups of 4... so when you try to meassure the capacitance of a single tokin "incircuit" what you are meassuring is the total sum of the 4 tokins
     
    wrx884 and Edwired like this.
  9. 103
    30
    32
    Edwired

    Edwired Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    I see what you are saying yeah suppose theres ways of testing it from the top to bottom with a dmm to see the total dmm value of four nec tokin in parrell
     
  10. 5,925
    5,599
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    And now that im thinking in it...
    In the same way that is imposible to meassure the capacitance of a single tokin "incircuit" (the most you are going to get is the value of the total sum of the group of 4 tokins)

    This trick you mentioned could work, but is not going to tell you which one is faulty
    Lets say... the group of 4 tokins had a total capacitance from factory of 4000 uf (1000 each). And now after years of use it have 2940 uf

    If you add a capacitor in paralell of... lets say... 1500uf (an electrolictic one from a old PC motherboard just for testing) and the Ps3 works, it means one of the tokins in that group of 4 is faulty

    In my oppinion i think is good enought, i insist suggesting to replace all the tokins, because replacing only a few of them is not a serious repair
    Is like a old car with an engine of 4 cylinders, and have a problem of compression in a cylinder... if you take that engine for a reworking to an specialist they are going to "drill" the 4 cylinders to make them bigger and recover his circunference
    Sure, you can do only 1, but this is too much ghetto !!! is not a serious, you dont want that for your car (or you will regret)
    The point is all the cylinders had the same usage, if one of them died it means the others are about to die, there is no need to make any test
     
    wrx884 likes this.
  11. 103
    30
    32
    Edwired

    Edwired Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Otherwise they would have to fit an oversized piston rings as the bore is bigger just to fill the remains of compression :)
     
  12. 5,925
    5,599
    622
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Trophy Points:
    622
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Hehe, yes, and a kit of new pistons

    I used the example of the car engine because is a bit like that, the cylinders of an engine works together at all times, so all them have the same usage
    If the failure happened because fatigue then there is always one that dies first, and when that happens it means the others are about to die too

    In electronics several components failing together at the same time exactly is very unfrequent, in this circuit of the PS3 with 4 tokins connected together what happens is when one of them fails then the others handles his work

    So... wen one of the tokins (of the group of 4) decreases his capacitance is forcing the others to overwork
    And as a consequence of this the lifespan of the others is shorted
    In some way the damage is "spreaded" into the group of 4 tokins

    Really, if there is 1 tokin damaged in the group of 4, the best repair you can do is to replace the 4
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
    Edwired likes this.
  13. 103
    30
    32
    Edwired

    Edwired Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    yeah that true similar principal in an led bulb when one led goes out the rest start to pick up the slack sometime one led goes the rest stops working
     
    sandungas likes this.
  14. 6
    0
    5
    David Collette

    David Collette Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    PC Technician
    Location:
    Webster, MA
    Hey if I'm getting YLOD at boot, and the yellow is only there for a brief second-then blinking red, is this consistent with capacitor issues?
     
  15. 230
    140
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Just realized I had a picture of piggy backing the caps:[​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
  16. 103
    30
    32
    Edwired

    Edwired Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Not bad looking there seems like a good idea there to test which one needs replacing that a good method
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  17. 245
    325
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I didn't forget to add the bridging wires, I just wanted to test for myself what would happen without them :-p

    Also it is necessary to use a certain wire gauge because my first set of bridging wires were too thin and melted lol.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  18. 103
    30
    32
    Edwired

    Edwired Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    i wonder would a pc power supply wire be strong enough as they would be big enough gauge in them or one of the wires off the kettle wire as they can handle the current as im just guessing here
     
  19. 1
    0
    5
    Jayy

    Jayy Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Will the 470 tantalum caps work from a ps4?
     
  20. 230
    140
    97
    jacobsson

    jacobsson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    How thin wire are we talking about?
     

Share This Page