PS3 [Tutorial] (Still works as of 19/2/20) Installing Red Ribbon Linux on Rebug 4.81.2 - 4.84.2 D / REX

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by dazzaXx, Feb 17, 2018.

  1. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello hello to all! I've got a noob question coming your way! Is it the same if i use a wireless keyboard for the set up?
     
  2. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah it should work fine, as long as it comes with the wireless dongle that plugs into the usb port.
     
  3. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Awesomeness! Many thanks DazzaXx will get right on it then and will post everything afterwards! Y'all have a great day or night!!
     
    dazzaXx likes this.
  4. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You too my man, hope it goes well! :-p
     
  5. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello hello!! I was doing step 3 from the unformatted version and got this error, I'm on 4.84 rebug. I'm not sure what I did wrong.
    I'm gonna re-download everything just in case that's what caused it because sometimes my mega account gets depleted as I'm downloading.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 19, 2019
  6. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Are you on CEX or DEX?
     
  7. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm on CEX my ps model is CECH-2504b
     
  8. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Did you download both packages i linked? Including the one for CEX users?
     
  9. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes I did and I'm re-downloading them again now they're almost done
     
  10. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Just tried again but gave me the same error:/
     
  11. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello hello! Was wondering what I did wrong to get that error maybe I misunderstood something!
    After downloading "this special REBUG 4.81.2 Linux package and the PUP for CEX users" I formated my usb and proceeded to create a "PS3 folder and an UPDATE folder in the PS3 folder on the root of the usb" then I copied the PUP file in the UPDATE folder and deleted the name of the PUP file and kept PS3UPDAT.
     
  12. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Theres no reason for it not to work, have you tried updating via safe mode?
     
  13. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm gonna try it now hopefully it'll work!
     
  14. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I got this message when I updated from safe mode, any clue into what might be going wrong?
    Thank you in advance i really appreciate you helping me with this issue!!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It says you can only install over 4.84, you need QA Flags enabled in order to downgrade since the firmware i include is 4.82.
     
  16. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello DazzaXx I'm gonna switch and do it and post the result,many thanks DazzaXx!!!
     
    dazzaXx likes this.
  17. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Your the man DazzaXx!! I switched QA flag from REBUG Toolbox then tried to update from the XMB update gave me the same error then I tried updating from safe mode it worked perfectly now I'm continuing the steps ! I'll post everything afterwards!!
    Many many thanks DazzaXx!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  18. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I did the process till step 14 ,after entering petitboot to bring up the list I selected live: it said failed so I did the process again and took a picture of the screen when I entered " ./create_hdd_region.sh " gave me options ,I'm not sure if what to pick. Might you be able to explain to me please?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. 447
    268
    122
    dazzaXx

    dazzaXx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    XMB UI Editor/Coder, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The script is automated meaning you don't need to input anything as it does what it needs to automatically, it seems the script hasnt been able to detect the OtherOS partition, did you press the 'Restore PS3 System' option in safe mode after you installed the patched Rebug firmware?
     
  20. 17
    4
    7
    ManoLLo

    ManoLLo Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes I restored the ps3 from safe mode and checked the ps version it was correct 4.82.1 if I'm not mistaken (I edited this message to post the error it gave)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page