Two weird problems with my PS3!

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Coldlm, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    @bguerville @complexusername

    Im not bad with computers, had errors connecting yo PSN years ago, startpaged the errors, found posts saying put the console in DMZ mode, i did and it worked, and i forgot about,

    it's certainly not on DMZ mode now,

    Also, I am positive none of my computers, phones are infected,

    cheers
     
    complexusername likes this.
  2. 289
    136
    72
    complexusername

    complexusername Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Makes sense. I wasn't trying to bag on you for it. I'm glad everything is resolved. Port forwarding or UPnP enabled on your router would do what you're really needing to connect to PSN.
     
    Coldlm likes this.
  3. 7,548
    5,646
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,548
    Likes Received:
    5,646
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Try that with Ubisoft PS3 games :P
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  4. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Some Ubisoft multiplayer games can be problematic, like a handful of other titles, although personally all my games run through uPnP in my setup, including the Ubisoft titles (except one) as NAT is detected as type 1.
    If your network is recognised as NAT type 2 or worse type 3, you will experience issues with those multiplayer games...
    With type 3, multiplayer games are usually unusable & whereas with type 2, the only issue might be with players using a strict NAT who will be inaccessible..
    To play those games online with other players, with NAT type 1, uPnP is sufficient. With NAT type 2 or 3, you would need to use port forwarding..
    Getting NAT type 3 means that something is interfering with the connection, like a Firewall or bad settings.
    In any case using a DMZ is the very last choice, basically when port forwarding is not available.
     
  5. 289
    136
    72
    complexusername

    complexusername Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I'm not familiar with this issue. I haven't had issues with my Ubisoft games on multiple consoles and I use UPnP on my gaming VLAN to enable multiple consoles with the same ports opened. Do you have any articles I can read up on?
     
  6. 289
    136
    72
    complexusername

    complexusername Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    It could also mean double NAT (router behind a gateway/router combo).

    Port forwarding works very well until you have multiple consoles that rely on the same ports to be opened in which UPnP will fix that issue.
     
  7. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Never had issues with any of Ubisoft games on console, on PC however...
     
  8. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    PS3 update:

    Holding the start button on the XMB brings slaunch fine, pressing the circle button to go back, freezes the PS3.

    deleting /dev_hdd0/tmp/wmtmp and restarting the system, webman's settings are still intact!

    trying to uninstall webman mod by 127.0.0.1/delete.ps3?uninstall, doesn't work!

    How to completely remove webman mod manually, because something is wrong with i
     
  9. 6,692
    7,821
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes Received:
    7,821
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Just rename/delete the sprx, which is probably in dev_flash/vsh/modules/ or in dev_hdd0/plugins/. If you are on Rebug use the Toolbox to toggle webman to disabled.
     
    Coldlm likes this.
  10. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    The configuration file is not in /dev_hdd0/tmp/wmtmp!
    It's in /dev_hdd0/tmp & it's called wm_config.bin in recent wMM releases.
     
    Coldlm likes this.
  11. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Yeah im on Rebug, i want it completely OFF, to do a clean install!
     
  12. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Before i delete it, it will recreate it self right?
     
  13. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Of course. On reboot, enter the setup page, configure & save...
     
    Coldlm likes this.
  14. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    PS3 updaete: about the console not loading any games or apps!

    i just managed to find the cause, wich was Filezella!

    yep if connect filezella to webman's ftp, it will cause that issue (at least on my end), also it was the cause of slaunch freezing my console.
     
  15. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    On which wMM version? The latest?
    You are saying that connecting to the wMM ftp server with Filezilla "crashed" parts of the wMM app.
    As nobody reported such an issue so far, I assume that there is something on one of your drives causing the crash...
    Does it also crash if no devices are attached to the console, only the internal hdd?
     
  16. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Correct on wMM 1.47.05 !

    Been trying to pinpoint the exact issue, (Both wired, wireless are the same)

    * if i start the console, connect FileZilla, filezelltransfer something, then start a game or an app, everything works fine!

    *if i start the console,FileZilla, and start transferring a large file, while it transferring, it won't load any game or app, it will go to a black screen, and only holding the power button will turn it off!

    * also i noticed this while backing up my games with FileZilla, hitting the Disconnect from server option, FileZilla shows that it stopped transferring, but the PS3s HDD light is working! task manager shows there is local traffic going on,

    (Slaunch wrks fine unless i do the above)!

    *And im wondering the fact that i can't install a CFW, on ly corrent HDD and the a new HDD), does have something do with the whole thing!

     
  17. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    PS3 Update:

    Managed to fix my second issue (Not being able to send or receive messages from my PS3), BY deleting the following folders (using Filezilla)

    /dev_hdd0/home/0000000x/community

    and

    /dev_hdd0/home/0000000x/friendim

    x= all profiles.

    cheers.
     
  18. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    I suggest you try the following 2 things:

    1. using another ftp client just to be sure that Filezilla isn't responsible. No ftp client out there is perfect & there have been issues with Filezilla and other clients in the past... For a simple test Windows Explorer would do just fine.
    2. using OpenFTP Server 4.3a, the sprx version, just to make sure that wMM is the culprit.
    To install openftp, copy the sprx on /dev_hdd0, disable your wMM ftp server in the setup page, save the wMM settings, add the path to the openftp sprx in boot_plugins.txt then reboot.
    This latest ftp server is probably the best & fastest around due to all the recent changes made by jjolano, including to better handle simultaneous connections. Grab the file & read the release notes on github.com/jjolano/openps3ftp

    Depending on the results, you will be able to tell us if the issue comes from the wMM ftp implementation or not...
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2017
  19. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Will give it a try when i can,
    cheers
     
  20. 228
    24
    27
    Coldlm

    Coldlm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Just gave a test, it seems the problem happens with Filezilla only, other ftp clients don't cause the console not to boot anything!
     

Share This Page