PS2 wLaunchELF Release Thread

Discussion in 'PS2 Homebrew' started by sp193, May 10, 2017.

  1. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    I and @Tupakaveli have the same HDD size (2tb).
    ...Well, actually Ule 4.42d freeze the Ps2 sometimes, but it's very rare. Aside that never failed a copy or corrupt something to me. It doesn't correctly read my 2tb HDD size, btw it perfectly list all my games and I can copy files to/from the HDD accessing hdd0 from the filebrowser and never had a single problem. Btw I'm planning to update my FMCB installation, just waiting to find some time.

    Anyway I noticed one thing about Ule HDD manager. With my main HDD (2tb) I could load the HDL game info previously. But now, since a while it seems to not work.
    It shows up a error message similar to this one when I press square button on a game's partition:

    In the box remain the write "info not loaded". Maybe it's something related to the number of partitions, 'cause with this same HDD (but some installed games ago...) this function worked flawlessy with every Ule version.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  2. 724
    1,287
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    1100 games? So you likely have over 2000 partitions. :eek:
    Anyway, I increased the maximum number of partitions (as in, installations, not individual partitions) to 1400. Ideally, it should dynamically allocate memory so that the unused slots will not be just sitting around, but LaunchELF just wasn't made for it.

    I have updated LaunchELF from FMCB.

    On a side note, I must say that I don't know what's with the strange length limits that were requested from LaunchELF's keyboard. I found the magic number of 36 very common, but these parameters don't even work because the keyboard is internally limited to 33 characters in length. 36 was also used for HDD partitions, even though partition names can only be 32-characters in length.

    It's not about freezing or not. It's whether it is doing the right thing. We don't get a few hundred commits to fix bugs every year within the SDK and other projects, for no reason.
    I know that the old PFS driver is also bugged, as pasting files can corrupt partitions on the HDD.

    I regret that I could not make the SDK perfect with every release, along with LaunchELF's own code. I might be the only one actively developing them or something, as most solutions only come from me. The most recently-fixed bug in USBHDFSD was introduced in 2014, when I tried to extend USBHDFSD to support disks up to 2TB in capacity.

    Then you do not have the same problem as @Tupakaveli. Either the planets lined up for you or you just don't have more than 500 titles installed. It is a fact that LaunchELF lacked the necessary limit on the partitions it will record, so it always corrupted data after the partition list.

    I didn't realize that was an error message. :dejection:
    The message meant that the HdlGetGameInfo() function returned a non-zero (error) value, but the value looks very strange too (not how people usually indicate errors). It might be this line, but it is hard to see what did not work.

    I did try pressing the SQUARE button yesterday and it was working, but my HDD is a 80GB disk with only a handful of games installed. If your game is higher up the disk (>= 1TB), maybe the LaunchELF hdl_info module has problems with using a signed integer (2^31 x 512 = 1TB). Or there is some other 15-year old bug/limitation we're not aware of, like the IOP running out of memory because of the number of partitions you have (unlike HDD.IRX, this thing tries to list all partitions on its own).

    I haven't changed that module. In fact, the log on Github shows that it hasn't been really updated since LaunchELF v4.01 (2006-09-01). Maybe it's better to retire this module, which does things without HDD.IRX too. I can replace its functionality with the driver from HDLGameInstaller, with other functions implemented with functionality from HDD.IRX itself.
     
    uyjulian, svotib, Peppe90 and 2 others like this.
  3. 255
    349
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    349
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I noticed when I had a look at the latest commit, much appreciated.

    Thanks for all the updates and bug fixes :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
    TnA and sp193 like this.
  4. 1,191
    648
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    THX for the update!
     
  5. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Indeed I've 409 games at the moment. I often Mount my iHDD VMCs for copy gamesaves and never had a corruption problem on my 2tb HDD. Maybe it works well with my configuration or I was just lucky…


    Yes, it must be a problem that happen once exceeded a certain number of games/partitions, 'cause I could correctly load the HDL game infos before, with this same 2tb HDD (but with some less games installed).
     
  6. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    I noticed that an old bug is still present, related to the iHDD VMC mounting.

    I can Mount a iHDD VMC and copy gamesaves from here to anywhere (real MC or USB) without problems.

    But I can't paste on iHDD VMC (either folder gamesaves and .psu gamesaves). If I try it freezes the Ps2 (with Ule 4.42d, Ule wip7 and the latest Wlaunchelf 14/1/2019) and I must hard-power-off.
    With Ule 2tb edition (the original one) I can see the pasting process but actually nothing is being pasted.

    When the Ps2 freezes, after hard-powering off, I restarted to check the VMC and sometimes I found something pasted. I mean there's a gamesave folder, but it's corrupted. If I try to enter or delete it, the Ps2 freezes.

    I solved this way:

    - deleted the (now corrupted) VMC from OPL and re-created it
    - copied the just created VMC from iHDD to USB HDD and deleted it from iHDD
    - mounted the VMC and pasted the gamesaves into it, then unmounted the VMC
    - copied the VMC from USB to iHDD

    No problem when pasting the VMC (I pasted it with Ule 4.42d, but I think any version could do the job), the problem is only when pasting saves.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  7. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    The problem seems related to the HDD size… (I'm using a 2tb HDD).
     
  8. 724
    1,287
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    It's been probably like that, for as far as I know. But I will not work on VMC because there are too many things to fix.

    As the PFS partition could not be cleanly unmounted due to the crash, the filesystem will get damaged regardless of what you do.
    To correct errors within PFS, you should use HDDChecker.

    Nah. I'm sure you can get this problem, even without a HDD unit. The problem is with the VMC module, so you can also get crashes... even with a USB disk.
     
  9. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    It Always happen 100% of times mounting a VMC from iHDD (only when pasting into it. Copying from it never cause problems).
    Never happened to me mounting a VMC from USB.

    However I'm talking about this with a friend on another forum. He can Mount his iHDD VMCs and paste gamesaves into it without problems (he has a SATA 2.5" HDD similar to my, but with just 500gb or so…)

    The only other difference is that he's using a Gamestar NA, I'm using the SONY one (with maxdiypower board) now.

    @Topakaveli Could you try to copy a gamesave to a VMC into your 2tb hdd?? You have to make a new VMC (so nothing will be corrupted), do the test, then delete the VMC from OPL.
     
  10. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Indeed I delete those VMC I corrupted. I done a check with HDD checker to be sure and no errors found (in both log files).

    side note: great program HDDchecker, This is the first time I used it.
    With the 2tb HDD I thought the check would take about an hour or so, instead it's incredibly fast.

    EDIT:
    He has a 1tb HDD actually, a seagate barracuda like the one I have (aside the size).
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  11. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    I've just upgraded my FMCB installation. However I can't save the IPCONFIG file with the new Wlaunchelf.

    - First time (before creating the LAUNCHELF.CNF file) it gave me this path for saving the file: MC1:/BOOT/IPCONFIG.DAT
    - then I pressed ok in Wle configure screen to make the LAUNCHELF.CNF file. Restarted Wle (or the Ps2 I don't rememnber) and the path changed to: MC1:/SYS-CONF/IPCONFIG.DAT

    Anyway, both times it failed to save the file: it appeared the message "saving failed" in the upper left corner.

    ...For the rest this Wle is great, very fast and it seems that I can't make it to crash :D

    I really appreciate the more provided texeditor!
     
  12. 255
    349
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    349
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I created a VMC for a game in OPL, mounted it in LaunchELF - commit 41e4ebe as VMC0:/, copied the save from my MC to it, loaded up the game and it's all fine. Deleted the VMC through OPL. No issues whatsoever.

    I'm using 2Tb with Sony NA modified with maxdiypower SATA board.
     
    Algol likes this.
  13. 867
    334
    97
    ISAK.M

    ISAK.M Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Well, School
    Location:
    Sweden
    I am going to start using my PS2 again now, I am still on uLaunchElf V4.42b I think
     
  14. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you for the test :)

    Then it's not size related. I was using fmcb 1953, could it be the problem?? I'll try again now with FMCB 1966.

    @sp193 I think that WLe still need the MC to be in slot 1 (MC0) to create the first time IPCONFIG.DAT, I'm right ?

    However I created the file with SMS (it can save it on MC1 without problems).
     
  15. 724
    1,287
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    It's unlikely. The content on PFS, have no direct relationship with the size of the HDD.
    And if there is a problem with a disk that large, somehow, you should have more severe problems.

    FMCB is not related. Normally, every piece of PS2 software will have full control over the PS2.

    It could be your network adaptor, since you don't use a genuine adaptor. Unless you can vouch for the quality of the implementation.
    My own "compatible" adaptor couldn't be used to write data properly to the HDD, so not all of them can be used to write data.

    I've been working on the HDD.IRX and PFS.IRX modules since 2015, and so nearly all the issues should have been found and fixed. I'll be very disappointed if any of it is still bugged...
    That being said, you'll expose the contents of the HDD to the old bugs, by staying with old software. For example, the old PFS module had problems with overwriting files.

    But I do know that the VMC module of LaunchELF has problems, problems that have not been looked at in years.
     
  16. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean the maxdiypower sata board?? @Tupakaveli is using the same one and the function works for him
     
  17. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    You copied from a SONY MC?? I copied from a 64MC and from USB. I wonder if it matter… Which OPL version were you using??

    I tried another time (from 64MC to iHDD-VMC) with other gamesaves, it was pasting fine for some secs then freezed the Ps2 :confusion:

    I seem to remember this function worked before for me (and I wasn't even using the SONY NA at that time).
    I can copy from the 64MB MC to a USB VMC always flawlessly. It's weird.
     
  18. 255
    349
    122
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    349
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I copied the save from a third party 128Mb MC.

    OPL r1319.
     
    Peppe90 likes this.
  19. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    It seems that the IPCONFIG.DAT created by SMS wasn't a valid one (it was 38 bytes) 'cause hdld_svr_093 couldn't see it.

    However after created it with SMS, Wle could overwrite it with a good one (39 bytes) that hdld_svr_093 can see.
     
  20. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    I created a VMC with OPL 1319. I'm able to paste savegames but only one by one. Pasting 2 or 3 of them in a once make the Ps2 to freeze...
     
Tags:

Share This Page