PS2 Open PS2 Loader v0.9.3 2016-09-29

Various OPL 0.9.3 versions without GSM -OPL Development Team (c. Ifcaro & jimmikaelkael)

  1. 155
    180
    72
    Tupakaveli

    Tupakaveli VIP PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    It appears to be working fine now although I did only play for 5 mins.

    Thank you for taking a look at it :)
     
  2. 496
    179
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Nothing broken on my config :encouragement:
     
    Tupakaveli likes this.
  3. 647
    1,144
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    I managed to reduce its size to 79KB, which is only approximately 10KB larger than SMSTCPIP. This isn't an accurate way of measurement, as this does not include the memory allocated from the heap and uninitialized data.

    Unfortunately, I couldn't seem to get it to work within OPL, as it'll get stuck during the game's IOP reboot. The stack overflow bug check gets triggered, with the affected thread being MODLOAD's thread. Maybe the new LWIP thread also has higher requirements for stack space. :(
     
    Algol, uyjulian, ta_poc and 5 others like this.
  4. 959
    613
    172
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    613
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    So many changes has been done recently.
    There is no rush.
    Thanks for keeping this project still alive.
     
    sp193, Zero35, Algol and 3 others like this.
  5. 63
    81
    42
    El_Patas

    El_Patas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    And what was fixed in this game?
    PAL, NTSC-U or NTSC-J version?
    HDD, USB or SMB?

    Best regards.
     
  6. 62
    66
    17
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ---
    Location:
    BRA
    Home Page:
    It began to work over USB and SMB... Thats all I know. Both PAL and NTSC-U. I am not aware of NTSC-J versions

    EDIT: In HDD it was already working
     
  7. 63
    81
    42
    El_Patas

    El_Patas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Aha thank you, is good to know that this game works now in USB and SMB.

    Best regards.
     
  8. 496
    179
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Now it remains:

    - Ace Combat Squadron Leader/The unsung war (and probably jap version too): briefings music missing and freezes on some missions (games was perfect on OPL 0.9.2).

    - Super Dragon Ball Z (all versions): BSOD at the BOOT. (the game works with OPL 0.9.3 and I think on newer builds too, I don't know precisely on which rev it got broken).

    - Transformers [SLES_523.88, SLES_533.09, SLUS_206.68, probably jap version too] This games is broken only playing from SMB since a long time. After playing a while (from 2 minutes to 10/15, it's "random") it starts some audio loops/failings, then BSOD (you can IGR anyway).
    The bug is present in OPL 0.9.2 (the game was even worse with it, 'cause differently from new OPL revs, fmv audio issues, couldn't be solved with MODE 1).
     
  9. 53
    33
    17
    Zarper

    Zarper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    So, hearing that people had issues with VMC in GT3 through SMB I decided it would be fun to bisect the issue... it wasn't.
    There seem to have been a lot of issues with VMC at the time that this regression was introduced, making it hard to pin down the exact commit that made it happen.

    I'll just present my findings so that anyone that wants to can dig a bit deeper and maybe find something.

    These revision are in chronological order, even though the names are a bit off (the auto naming code in OPL is a bit wonky from time to time).
    Good indicates a revision that is able to load GT3 with VMC and access the data inside it.
    Skip = Not able to load GT3 with VMC.
    Bad = Able to load but no data on VMC.

    OPL r1173-Beta-7d23b38 - Good
    OPL r1174-Beta-8dbaaae - Skip
    OPL r1175-Beta-f574ea3 - Skip
    OPL r1176-Beta-9272dd9 - Skip
    OPL r1177-Beta-6dbfc72 - Skip
    OPL r1178-Beta-cd88afc - Skip
    OPL r1179-Beta-6ccedb7 - Skip
    OPL r1180-Beta-0f59471 - Skip
    OPL r1181-Beta-40be3fc - Skip
    OPL r1182-Beta-5251100 - Skip
    OPL r1183-Beta-d25a8ea - Skip
    OPL r1184-Beta-1f793f4 - Skip
    OPL r1185-Beta-45049f8 - Skip
    OPL r1186-Beta-1cd46b9 - Skip
    OPL r1187-Beta-7919818 - Skip
    OPL r1188-Beta-ad182dc - Skip
    OPL r1189-Beta-5205963 - Bad
    OPL r1189-Beta-05d06ad - Skip
    OPL r1190-Beta-9df6607 - Skip
    OPL r1191-Beta-70fb5f5 - Skip
    OPL r1193-Beta-a3e2fe0 - Bad
    OPL r1194-Beta-35ffe2a - Bad

    Here are all the revisions if anyone would like to try themselves.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    Algol, ted209 and Peppe90 like this.
  10. 496
    179
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    There's a VMC problem from SMB with Gran Turismo 4 too. According to the topic on ps2-Home, it got broken on DB_1309 (that correspond to official rev 1176).
    It was good with the previous DB_1301 (official r1171).

    Therefore r1174 introduced the bug for both games (and maybe for others too?)
     
    Algol and ted209 like this.
  11. 15
    19
    32
    ted209

    ted209 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Great post! Must have taken you ages, but you've proved that something has been affecting the VMC code recently.

    I found a workaround for a VMC issue with SMB for Enthusia (http://www.psx-place.com/threads/vmc-bug.22207/#post-156892) it might be interesting to see if loading the VMC in USB then re-saving it in-game also works for GT3.
     
    Algol likes this.
  12. 496
    179
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe it's been made an error when doing these modifications?


    - rev1306 - SP193 - ATA: Disable the device's write cache for in-game VMC support. - Sun Aug 26 15:20:08 2018 +0800

    - rev1305 - SP193 - IGR: Added API to unmount devices (with interrupts enabled) before terminating OPL. - Sun Aug 26 15:20:08 2018 +0800

    - rev1304 - SP193 - IGR: Lock accesses to the virtual device, to prevent the physical device from entering some weird state due to interrupting an ongoing transfer. - Sun Aug 26 15:20:08 2018 +0800

    - rev1303 - SP193 - IGR: deinitialize if the game calls Exit(). In the current implementation, Exit() will act according to IGR settings. If an exit path is specified, it will boot the specified ELF. Otherwise, it will return to the browser. - Sun Aug 26 15:20:04 2018 +0800
     
    Algol likes this.
  13. 62
    66
    17
    Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ---
    Location:
    BRA
    Home Page:
    Thanks for the link
     
  14. 53
    33
    17
    Zarper

    Zarper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    After a bit of trail and error I believe I've found something. I'm not a programmer, so I don't know why it works and if it's wrong/correct.
    But adding back
    Code:
    void DeviceDeinit(void)
    {
    smb_Disconnect();
    }
    
    in "device.smb.c" that was removed in 8dbaaae, VMC starts to work again.

    Latest OPL with the line added: https://www.sendspace.com/file/2intcx
     
    Peppe90 and Algol like this.
  15. 647
    1,144
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    That is great...but I never changed anything that could fix this problem. So I would not consider it fixed.


    Thanks.

    I would not consider this fixed, it if was a problem.

    That line was deleted from this commit because I moved it to deviceUnmount(), which I forgot to call. This was corrected later on.

    You need to also check whether the VMC file could be opened by OPL. If it displayed the error message about the VMC file, then the VMC cannot be used in that session.

    Before that series of commits, it was also not possible to boot the same game again with VMC, due to OPL not releasing the handle during IGR.
     
  16. 53
    33
    17
    Zarper

    Zarper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    That was one of the reasons I said it was hard to bisect due to multiple issues with VMC at the same time.

    Without "void DeviceDeinit(void){smb_Disconnect();}" GT3 loads fine and there is a MC in slot 1, but it is empty.
    With it the game loads fine and the MC has saved data on it.
    I provided a build of OPL r1319 with the line re-added to make it easy to test in my previous post.
     
    Algol and ted209 like this.
  17. 53
    33
    17
    Zarper

    Zarper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Just a thought.
    If smb_Disconnect() is called inside DeviceDeinit() and works but when it's called inside DeviceUnmount() it doesn't. Could it not be some issue with DeviceUnmount()?

    Not that I understand why the shutdown function would affect reading of the VMC. Is that called at any time during setup?

    Also, could anyone else report if it fixes their issues with VMC on SMB like GT4 and Enthusia?
     
    Algol likes this.
  18. 647
    1,144
    222
    sp193

    sp193 Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    I have a question: can SMB be currently used to create & format VMCs properly? Does this VMC function even work at all, on USB and/or SMB?

    I was adjusting SMBMAN so that reading & writing performance can be higher, by allowing for longer reads & writes to be done. This was attempted sometime in 2015, but I rolled back all changes as I gave up trying to adjust it then.
    But somehow, OPL didn't even seem to try to create the VMC before error'ing out, stating that it "Failed to format VMC file". :eek:
    I didn't even see the SMB Open_AndX command with write access. So it never tried creating a new file.
    If I created a new file on my PC, then it would still error out and delete the file I created. But again, still no request with write access was made.

    I don't know when this started to become a thing, but I am now also unable to log into my PC with my normal user account. SMB support has always been a can of worms, but I also have left my PS2 to use the GUEST account for as far as I can remember.

    I am starting to remember why I hate this particular part of OPL.

    No. It's only called when IGR is done. DeviceDeinit() is called when the PS2 is going to be powered-off.

    Not at all...
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
  19. 53
    33
    17
    Zarper

    Zarper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Using PSgen:1 for testing (hint, hint, nudge, nudge, still have graphical glitches) with r1319 on SMB I can create, format and delete VMCs that work correctly. However, OPL will sometimes freeze the console during the format process, but as long as you wait a sufficient amount of time before turning the console off, the VMC will work correctly.

    Same result on my DeviceDeinit() version.
     
    Algol likes this.
  20. 496
    179
    47
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    I made a generic_0 VMC when doing all the tests from SMB in the last period. Never noticed problems… The last game I was testing is Trasformers (this game has a auto-save function, Always save and load fine).
     
    Algol likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page