PS3 Ps3 slim crashes upon slightly tapping the console.

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by Yagavitch, Jul 4, 2019.

  1. 5,035
    4,482
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,035
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
  2. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    A green light?
    A broken/poor contact solder ball can cause that,

    Try to press on the console while turning it on,if it turns on normally than it's a broken/poorly contacted solder ball.
     
  3. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Well frick, I stood on where the airflow and heat synk are (im 140 and i was putting more weight on myself too) and the console booted up, i knocked on it a few times, getting harder and nothing happening, I let my foot off and it froze.
     
  4. 256
    43
    32
    snkplkn

    snkplkn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    32
  5. 1,365
    757
    222
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Hold on? You were putting 140+ kg just to verify? You madlad, you are going to bend the board and indeed damage the solder joints, just a press with your fingers was enough, that's like 1Kg of force.

    The good news is if pressing towards the Chips, makes your PS3 Boot again, then the solder-joints has suffered a impact shock, which now reballing will indeed be useful, and its the right way to repair the impact shock caused by drooping it.

    Ive seen several of these cases specialy with the PlayStation2, when the console would froze on the start up, upon putting some pressure on the Emotion Engine chip, the console would resume the normal operating environment,and that also was caused by you guess it, dropping the console.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2019
  6. 1,365
    757
    222
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    What pressing machine? You need no pressing machine, just press it with your hand, 1Kg of force with your hand should be enough, using a pressing machine (idk what the hell its even that to begin with), not only will damage the board further, and the solder-joints as well, this, and i repeat THIS ITS ONLY WHEN REBALLING ITS USEFUL.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
  7. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    The solution is reballing,
    So my gut feeling was true! :D

    I have dealt with a few consoles that had this problem,
    That's why i know all the symptoms like the green light and etc.
     
  8. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Pressing machine is never needed for repair,

    Unless you want to flatten the PS3 like they do in car scrap yards in the movies :D
     
  9. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Update, its my psu, I feel dumb for standing on the CPU/GPU. Ill do the atx tezt and if I have a power supply thats safe for the ps3 I'll just use an atx for until I can afford a new psu.

    Ill make a video of demonstration.
     
  10. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    How do i know if my power supply is atx or at?
     
  11. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    By it's size:
    "Dimensions of an ATX power supply are 150 mm width, 86 mm height"
     
  12. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ah nice, but I cant locate the 12 and 5 volt connections on here.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Big update, I found a power supply that was successful in putting my ps3 into standby mode, but when I tried turning it on the light went green and then it turned off, similar to if a ps3 psu is not connected to the 2 prongs for the power supply.
     
  14. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Update, I have to press on this little area for it to work.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    What model is your PS3?
     
  16. 17
    0
    5
    Yagavitch

    Yagavitch Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Cech 3001b
     
  17. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    From what i see in that area we have the some chip:
    CECH-3000B-KTE-001-front.jpg
    And next to it there are the CPU and RAM.

    So first i would check that the chip is soldered correctly.

    If you press behind the CPU does it work?
     
  18. 5,035
    4,482
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,035
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    In the point where you are pressing the metal shield doesnt touches the motherboard components
    I mean... you are applying the force in a point where the metal is curved... so the affected areas are located somewhere else
    Most probably what happens when you press at that point is the motherboard is bending entirelly at half

    Maybe is something related with the SATA connector that is closer to where you was pressing
     
  19. 209
    37
    57
    Vishera

    Vishera Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    57
    If i am not mistaken the system can boot without the SATA connector,but it will just show an error on the screen.
    Also the RAM and CPU are very close to the point he pressed on.
     

Share This Page