PS3 RetroArch (PS3) - Guide (2018 - WIP) v1.7.6

A Multi-System Emulator for a CFW enabled PS3

  1. 4,597
    4,126
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,597
    Likes Received:
    4,126
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Try to delete the previous version (by triangle ---> delete over the icon) before installing the new one
     
  2. 6
    1
    7
    alechair

    alechair Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Thanks for the suggestion.
    Maybe I didin't explained properly.
    Yes, I do uninstall from xmb everytime. Problem persists.

    Maybe I'll have to restore the system? (never did it before...)
     
  3. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    Have you tried REBUG?
     
  4. 6
    1
    7
    alechair

    alechair Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Will the posted here "REBUG 4.82.1: LITE Edition CFW (w/ Rebug Toolbox 2.02.15 + Cobra v7.54)" will do?

    Can I jump from 4.82 Ferrox to this without downgrading? Updating straight from the xmb?
    Thanks
     
  5. 2
    0
    5
    liam mahony

    liam mahony Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there any way to get thumbnails/boxart to be displayed next to ROMS? I have playlists for each emulator but have no idea on how to get thumbnails to show. I have searched various forums but its all very confusing. Thanks
     
  6. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    Edit:
    If RetroArch has scanned your roms and created a playlist, then that is good. In the Settings in the RetroArch UI (cant recall which menu off hand) but you can choose style of thumbnail also (boxart / ScreenShot / ect.)

    More info here:
    https://docs.libretro.com/guides/roms-playlists-thumbnails/#thumbnails

    Usually easier to download the packs on PC and FTP them to the PS3,
    Seems larger packs either take forever or eventually fails when done from the PS3
    https://github.com/libretro/libretro-thumbnails
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2018
    liam mahony likes this.
  7. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    Sorry for late reply,
    Was asking if you used REBUG and had this issue? , not to switch but you can see if the issue is there.
    I have seen some reports about people on some other CFW having issues but was never sure if it was a issue with CFW or user-error(s) or app bug...

    Yes, but you can only use (which is okay) the CEX version (with REBUG LITE )
    Yes, no need to downgrade because you are installing a CFW of the same version (or higher).
    Yes, you can update from the XMB (external storage option)
     
  8. 2
    0
    5
    liam mahony

    liam mahony Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks. I managed to get boxart showing for the playlists I have, now just to figure out why some romsets wont scan.
     
  9. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
  10. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2018
  11. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    FYI note regarding mGBA (missing in v1.7.5)
    https://twitter.com/libretro/status/1048979356268331008
     
    Ali888 likes this.
  12. 2
    2
    57
    Pete_uk

    Pete_uk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Great thread!!

    Might have to dust off one of the PS3s and have a look ;)
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  13. 135
    35
    57
    Incorruptable

    Incorruptable Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    Ireland
    Dust them off to be sure, Retroarch is a world in itself once up and running on the PS3.

    P.S. You would need to be of a certain vintage and geographical location to appreciate your profile pic, i am of that vintage & location :)
     
    Pete_uk likes this.
  14. 7,843
    6,516
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,516
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Definitely of that vintage & also very roughly of that location, I am afraid ... Remember SPG? LMFAO..
     
  15. 135
    35
    57
    Incorruptable

    Incorruptable Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ahh, its been many many years since i have watched even one episode, it was his pet right?
     
  16. 7,843
    6,516
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,516
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes, I can still remember it getting heavily chucked about.. ;)
     
  17. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    Hey look who it is :) ... Good to see you...
     
    Pete_uk likes this.
  18. 2
    2
    57
    Pete_uk

    Pete_uk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    RetroArch PS3 will have to wait till weekebd. Found 3 PS3s in various states (1 YLOD Dex conversion, 1 running Rebug I think but no HDD and 1 on OFW) but no DS3s.
    Anyone know if DS4s work on PS3, Got 2 of them handy.....

    Hey STL :D Glad to be back ;)
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  19. 149
    135
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    That mGBA thing is weird...maybe there should be a separate PS3-only core version of it. mGBA plays some games that VBA Next chokes on - better keep a copy of mGBA around.

    As of this post, mGBA is still available on the nightlies site, along with an old friend - MAME2003. Have not tested it yet, though - OpenBOR has been occupying most of my time recently.

    @Pete_uk - dude, LONG time no see. Welcome back.
     
    Pete_uk and STLcardsWS like this.
  20. 8,702
    8,458
    1,047
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,702
    Likes Received:
    8,458
    Trophy Points:
    1,047
    Not sure if you know or not, but 4.82 ofw is exploitable by soft mod.
    PS3Xploit v2.0 (CFW capable models only).

    That no DS3 may be a snag but DS4 will work on your PS3 if you have one.
     

Share This Page