RetroArch v1.7.3

Discussion in 'RetroArch' started by STLcardsWS, May 4, 2018.

  1. 189
    80
    32
    Ali888

    Ali888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    No sir, am i have to?
    I thought it's a core like 2048; just load the core and play with it...
     
  2. 7,909
    6,946
    747
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    6,946
    Trophy Points:
    747


    That is how it showing in this video which i assume is the PC version.

    but instructions are in Video Description:

    This is an OutRun game engine recreation written by Chris White in 2014. It has been ported to the libretro API. We have added a few additional options such as Force AI to play the game, and a 'Free play mode'. Right now, custom soundtrack replacement through wave files has not been implemented yet, however the original game's sound works just fine as of right now. Left analog steering might be implemented later and controls might have to be changed later on.

    Note - In order for this core to work, you need to dump the required roms into the directory 'cannonball' inside your System Directory. If you don't know what your System Directory is set to, you can go to Settings | Directory and look at which path it is set to. This core is already starting to appear on various platforms on our buildbot.
     
  3. 189
    80
    32
    Ali888

    Ali888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for Excellent instructions (:)

    Going to check this core again, but using ROMs this time...
     
  4. 127
    118
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Cannonball core working...sort of...(read on)

    cannonball.png

    1. Make a folder called cannonball

    2. Dump the contents of OutRun Revision B (outrun.zip) into this folder (I would use a current MAME romset).
    The 31 files need to be named as according to this -> https://github.com/djyt/cannonball/blob/master/roms/roms.txt
    If you want to play some alternate tracks from the Japanese version you will need 8 files from outruno.zip (see above link for details).
    Also a "fixed" audio rom is available and optional -> http://reassembler.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/outrun-original-game-shipped-with.html
    EDIT - Actually, this link might be more useful -> https://github.com/djyt/cannonball/wiki/Cannonball-Manual#fix-corrupted-audio

    3. Create a dummy text file (0 byte length), call it cannonball.game and put it in the folder.
    This is the file you load via Load Content (don't use Start Core).

    Here are the problems:

    - If you choose Play Game, it crashes back to the XMB.

    - If you change the game mode, it crashes back to the XMB.

    - If you go to Settings, you can't cancel back to the main menu. If you choose Save and Return, it crashes back to the XMB.

    - retroarch.cfg gets corrupted - it shrinks from ~93 kb to ~6 kb. Make sure you have a backup of this file!

    Other stuff

    - Don't know if custom tracks work (https://github.com/djyt/layout/wiki)

    - Custom audio tracks not supported (yet?)

    - Analog controls not supported (yet?) - you can still map controls to analog, they just will function as digital

    Sources/more info

    https://github.com/djyt/cannonball/wiki/Cannonball-Manual
    https://forums.launchbox-app.com/topic/45303-cannonball-outrun-retroarch-and-launchbox-quick-guide/
    https://forums.libretro.com/t/cannonball-core-outrun-save-settings/16260
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2018
    STLcardsWS, Ali888, Zar and 1 other person like this.
  5. 127
    118
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    2048 and Vecx are now available on the PS3 nightlies site - not sure if they're working, going to test them out later on.
     
    sandungas, STLcardsWS and Ali888 like this.
  6. 7,909
    6,946
    747
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    6,946
    Trophy Points:
    747
    Vecx should that was an official core at one time if not mistaken (maybe v1.0.0.2 ?)
    Also i believe 2048 was official and worked as well but disappeared for a bit.

    Good to see these back :)
     
  7. 127
    118
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    2048 and Vecx cores work fine.

    Snes9x2005 core is also available (the non-Plus version that previously ran at half-speed). Going to test this one out, too.

    EDIT - yep, it works full-speed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
    sandungas and Ali888 like this.
  8. 40
    8
    7
    STRATOS198XAD

    STRATOS198XAD Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    This has PC98 and PC Engine CD emulators? If so, can you play with a pad or do you require a mouse and keyboard?
     
  9. 7,909
    6,946
    747
    STLcardsWS

    STLcardsWS Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    6,946
    Trophy Points:
    747
    PC Engine CD (aka TurboGrafx CD) is playable via mednafen_pce_fast .
    There was an issue in the past that was preventing CD games from working but they worked in the past and i believe that bug may be fixed by now (but i am not certain).
     
    STRATOS198XAD likes this.
  10. 127
    118
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  11. 189
    80
    32
    Ali888

    Ali888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
  12. 64
    4
    12
    joe musashi

    joe musashi Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    is there a way to play game cube games with retro arch?
     
  13. 189
    80
    32
    Ali888

    Ali888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    If you mean play GameCube with PS3 RA, the answer is NO.
     
    STLcardsWS likes this.
  14. 64
    4
    12
    joe musashi

    joe musashi Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    oh that sound sweet
     
    Ali888 likes this.
  15. 127
    118
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    N64, PS1, Saturn, PS2, GC, Xbox, Dreamcast, PSP, and DS (maybe some others - 3DO?) will never happen on PS3 RetroArch. Either the hardware is not capable, or it would require a major rewrite to get the core to run on the PS3.
     
  16. 64
    4
    12
    joe musashi

    joe musashi Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    ps3 is much stronger then all of them
     
  17. 189
    80
    32
    Ali888

    Ali888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
  18. 7,009
    4,891
    697
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,009
    Likes Received:
    4,891
    Trophy Points:
    697
    Home Page:
    What you guys need to understand there is more than "Linux". PS3 is basically PowerPC 64 architecture, so if something work on linux on PC, or even on PS4, or PS2, will not gonna work on PS3 without massive rewrite. No matter that will be under linux, or GameOS from PS3. Of course full access to RSX will help a lot, but there is still not emu that can be ported. So still basically it require to write emu from scratch (at least jit recompiler).

    Is not matter as much. Look at Saturn, Dreamcast, or even N64 emulation on PC. Is still not perfect with much better hardware than PS3.
    Plus read my answer to Ali888.

    • N64 - No PPC64 recompiler available, but PPC32 exist afaik
    • PS1 - PPC64 dynarec available, standalone HOMEBREW emu exist. But there is no need for including it in retroarch while 99% compatible emu is served by $ony
    • Saturn - No PPC64 recompiler available + Saturn use many processors in different architectures (p.i.t.a)
    • PS2 - No PPC64 recompiler available + $ony emulator is doing really great job, no need for PCSX2 port, as it work very different, and compatibility will be much lower than on PC if someone will ever port it.
    • GC - no PPC64 recompiler, but GC is PowerPC so chances are not bad. But still, it require basically writing new emu
    • Xbox - no PPC64 recompiler, but even on PC is hard to emulate custom GFX. No real chance for PS3 port
    • Dreamcast - Afaik still no PPC64 recompiler exist for SH4 processor
    • PSP - PPSSPP or JPSPC have no PPC64 recompiler. Use build-in emu instead
    • DS - Use 2 ARM processors, PPC64 recompiler is available for one of them (because is chip used also in GBA), require a lot of work, but doable.
     
  19. 127
    118
    72
    JediKnight007

    JediKnight007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Actually, I don't think there is an X-Box core for RetroArch currently (original or 360).

    Another core with little to no hope is the Jaguar one. However, I remember reading something on the libretro forums that the problem is not necessarily hardware-related. The core is based on an emulator (Virtual Jaguar) that is not particularly well-refined, and it has not been updated in about 4 years.
     
  20. 9,689
    3,696
    472
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    no need for an xbox core on the 360, just use the hacked compatibility files. the only downside is that it requires an internal hdd. ;)
     

Share This Page