PS2 [Open PS2 Loader] Game Bug Reports

Discussion in 'Open PS2 Loader (OPL)' started by jolek, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. 1,192
    648
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    @Peppe90 So in total it froze at jump 15 or 16?
    It seems there is some value incremented and not reset. I reported a similar freezing-problem a while ago and if I remember correctly it was in relation to games which performed an IOP-Reset. I think something similar even happened to some games, which where IGR-Reseted (even after using PS2Logo and after the fixes - from a few months ago - to IGR)!

    There might be an issue either in EE-Core or in some code running on the IOP, where a value is increased (or a register is changed 'forwards' but not 'backwards') and once it 'overflows' it causes a freeze.

    It also could be an issue similar to the previous PID-bug (number of the process being changed up to a point, that the game does not expect).
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
    Peppe90 likes this.
  2. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Ah sorry, I tested from HDD (usual 2tb HDD, Sony NA and maxdiypower sata board).
    It's the USA version SLUS_201.11 (the PAL one is just Deus Ex, without "the Conspiracy").
    I didn't tried any MODE yet.

    This game is given as working since ever, but it can be that no one noticed the issue until now (I tested this game since OPL 093, but never gone back and forth on a loading spot so many times in a single play.

    It seems that on each loading something remains on Ps2 memory until it fills up and freezes, something like that, since you have to pass through the loading screen many times to make it to freeze.
     
    jolek likes this.
  3. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    I've read your post after writing.

    We have the same feeling, but You explained it better :D
     
  4. 1,503
    1,186
    347
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    I've similar problem with Max Payne (SLES_503.25).
    I mean, while leaving game for a bit in demo mode after few resets,
    game seems to freeze even from HDD leaving me with white screen:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
    TnA and Peppe90 like this.
  5. 1,192
    648
    222
    TnA

    TnA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany --> Saxony
    Would you mind counting how often, even if it takes a while?
     
  6. 1,503
    1,186
    347
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Counting how often?
    I'm not sure if I understand you.
    In Max Payne (SLES_503.25) after 5th "reset".
    I'm leaving game at this screen to boot demo:
    [​IMG]

    Also the same problem is with Deus Ex.
    I've tried SLES_508.04, after going back and forth as J-Doran1968 suggest at this place:
    [​IMG]
    Also after 5th "reset" I'm getting white screen.

    I've tested this with OPL 1386 through USB with Deux Ex, through HDD with Max Payne.
     
    Peppe90 and TnA like this.
  7. 1,503
    1,186
    347
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Peppe90 likes this.
  8. 9
    5
    32
    xnnonz

    xnnonz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Title = Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy
    ID = SCUS_971.24
    Media = DVD5
    OPL = 0.9.3
    Device = USB
    Mode = 1, 3, 6
    VMC = YES

    Is this game ever going to get its save bug fixed? game freezes whenever I try to save, tried different versions of OPL and different mods but no luck so far.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
    jolek and Peppe90 like this.
  9. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Have you tried with a real 8mb MC??
     
  10. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    jolek likes this.
  11. 1,503
    1,186
    347
    jolek

    jolek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    You tried different stable versions of stable OPL, or betas too?
    E.g. 1392:
    https://www.psx-place.com/resources/automated-daily-build-system-for-opl-wle-fceumm-ps2.702/.

    With VMC game very often freezes at save game, so as Peppe90 suggest try this game with real memory card.
     
  12. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    I seems to remember this game could crash when saving in certain situations even using a Sony MC. But I can be wrong (it's been a long time ago).
    Btw it's not normal to crash in every situations. This guy was having this problem, but only with old OPL revs: http://www.ps2-home.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1374

    about Ace Combat the Unsung War I can already tell you that the briefing music is always missing, even not skipping FMVs.
    I've still to reach mission 6 (I'm at the third).
     
  13. 107
    66
    82
    Algol

    Algol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Et la version Euro de "Jack et Daxter", l'avez-vous essayé ???

    Moi, je l'ai terminé à 98% (ainsi que mon épouse). Tout s'est bien passé et les SAVEs étaient sur des VMCs. Mon OPL est une version spéciale réalisée pour moi seulement. La version officielle ne pouvait pas gérer les VMC sur ETH (voire ailleurs) en utilisant le gestionnaire de fichier de GT3 (Euro). J'utilise énormément ce jeu (GT3) pour cette capacité de gestionnaire de fichier qu'il possède.

    And the Euro version of "Jack and Daxter", did you try it ???

    Me, I finished 98% (and my wife). Everything went well and the SAVEs were on VMCs. My OPL is a special version made for me only. The official version could not handle VMCs on ETH (even elsewhere) using the file manager of GT3 (Euro). I use this game (GT3) a lot for this file manager ability it has.
     
    Peppe90 likes this.
  14. 9
    5
    32
    xnnonz

    xnnonz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male

    I hope you would be kind to share that special version of OPL which supports jak and daxter 1? S'il vous plaît :) (I hope google translate didn't lie to me)
     
  15. 62
    19
    37
    Agrippa

    Agrippa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Jak and Daxter 1 works with modes 3 and 6 enabled. Other enhancements (PADEMU, GSM, VMC, IGR, etc.) have to be disabled. I think this setting does work with all Jak games.
     
  16. 9
    5
    32
    xnnonz

    xnnonz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    I did exactly that with OPL 10/27/2019 build and got black screen after "Sony computer entertainment" text
     
  17. 741
    357
    72
    Peppe90

    Peppe90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe it needs MODE 1 too like on internal HDD??

    I never tried J&D TPL from ETH. From HDD you need MODE 1+3+6 and all work perfectly with every OPL version.
     
  18. 92
    31
    67
    Fanhais

    Fanhais Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    try to put MDMA2
     
  19. 9
    5
    32
    xnnonz

    xnnonz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Mode 1+3+6 leads to save freeze bug, tried with 0.9.3 and with latest build. What is MDM2?
     
  20. 92
    31
    67
    Fanhais

    Fanhais Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    on OPL the games start on DMA04 try to put MDMA02
     

Share This Page