[GUIDE] Unbrick a PS3 after an unfortunate PS3Xploit flash

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Guides' started by littlebalup, Dec 16, 2018.

  1. 161
    43
    57
    chronoss

    chronoss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry, was in 4.82 and CosOFW484.BIN don't work with that !!!
     
  2. 1,010
    615
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    615
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College student
    Location:
    Tunisie
    Home Page:
    No SYSCON will accept same actual version or higher it will flash even the new chosen coreOS to be patched is lower but ps3 will boot to no screen cause EEPROM will not accept lower version coreOS FW so if you get your ps3 brick on 4.82 then you can flash it with 4.82 coreOS bin and update with 4.84HFW PUP or flash it directly with 4.84 coreOS bin and update it with 4.84 HFW PUP both have the same purpose restoring ps3 back from brick but one use same actual coreOS bin and other use higher bin, and @chronoss i think you are wrong
     
    chronoss likes this.
  3. 1,010
    615
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    615
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College student
    Location:
    Tunisie
    Home Page:
    how is not work ??? no ps3 boot?? only blackscreen ?
     
  4. 18
    2
    7
    Leon120081

    Leon120081 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Gamer, Teacher
    Location:
    Earth
    @littlebalup ? / @ Louay, can you identify tristate point and ground point...
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
    chronoss likes this.
  5. 161
    43
    57
    chronoss

    chronoss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    :ambivalence::ambivalence::ambivalence:

    yes, chutdown after 3 second :(

    Wich motherboard ?
     
  6. 4,472
    4,021
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,472
    Likes Received:
    4,021
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Yeah, is needed to tell the motherboard model, take a look at this photos
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/Motherboard_Revisions

    The ground is easy, no solder required
    You can connect it to many motherboard points that are common ground, as example, the metal that covers some connectors (USB, HDMI, etc...), all that metal is ground and usually have some "clip" where you can hold the wire by pressure
    Another way is to connect the ground to the copper border of the motherboard, the border have some holes where you can insert the wire and twist it, or grab it to the border with this:

    The good way
    [​IMG]
    The guetto way
    [​IMG]
     
    Sdw100, Leon120081 and DeViL303 like this.
  7. 18
    2
    7
    Leon120081

    Leon120081 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Gamer, Teacher
    Location:
    Earth

    My ps3 motherboard's model is :NPX-001
    I search on many sites but there is no info about this board .. @sandungas thanks for brief info but only last tell me which is tristate point
     

    Attached Files:

  8. 1,059
    1,049
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    Just assumption. It needs confirmation. Use that at your own risk :
    [​IMG]
     
  9. 1,059
    1,049
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    How did you bricked? PS3Xploit writer has never been released in 4.81...
    If your PS3 was under CFW, use the regular nofsm patch and boot to recovery to reinstall a CFW.
     
    computermanbba likes this.
  10. 4
    1
    7
    computermanbba

    computermanbba Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    my PS3 data code is 2B so it does not accept CFW, i try cosOFW 4.82 & 4.84 but is steel the same problem... black screen and power button green, before that when i take my dump with E3 flasher it was Good and DumpCheaker give me OK.
     
  11. 1,059
    1,049
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    Send me that dump in private. I'll have a look on it.
     
    computermanbba likes this.
  12. 18
    2
    7
    Leon120081

    Leon120081 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Gamer, Teacher
    Location:
    Earth
    Picture you added isn't showing ....(Reupload please).
    How to know tristate point can we check it with any kind of metter?
     
  13. 1,059
    1,049
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    No, you can't test without to desolder the southbridge.

    [​IMG]
     
    Leon120081 likes this.
  14. 4
    1
    7
    computermanbba

    computermanbba Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    How i can send a private message ???
     
  15. 18
    2
    7
    Leon120081

    Leon120081 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Gamer, Teacher
    Location:
    Earth
    Click on his name... His profile will be open then click on start conversation

    @littlebalup desolder south bridge .... Means option will be of do or die.....if i remove south bridge then solder your indicated tristate to ground..? Or inner side of south bridge there will be tristate point ..... Getting confuse bcoz i am not hardware expert but i have to fix it
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2019
    computermanbba likes this.
  16. 1,059
    1,049
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    I mean, to be sure the tristate trace and point is what is shown on my pics, the SouthBridge must be desoldered to see if the trace goes to the U2 pin of the SB. There are high chance it is, as I don't see any other points that can be it.
    I don't say you must desolder the SB to access or to use the tristate...
    So, at your own risk, you can try that red point shown on the left hand picture.
     
    Leon120081 and Algol like this.
  17. 4,472
    4,021
    372
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,472
    Likes Received:
    4,021
    Trophy Points:
    372
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    The theory is...

    The tristate is a pin of the southbridge, by "grounding" it all the other input/output pins of the southbridge enters is a "disabled" state (also known as "the third state"... or tristate)
    The flash is accessed by other components of the motherboard throught southbridge (it works as an intermediary)

    What you want to do is to access the flash contents by using additional hardware (the flasher)... and at the same time you want to power up the motherboard (to power up the flash)
    The problem is the data signals from the external flasher are going to have interferences with the other data signals of the motherboard that are trying to access the flash chip
    So the solution is to "disable" the southbridge with the tristate pin, this way the flash chip is "isolated" and your external flasher can access to it without interferences
    Actually, with the tristate pin you are also disabling access to hdd, usb, lan, wifi, etc, etc, etc... technically you have all the "peripherals" disabled so you have half of the motherboard components "disconnected" from the circuit

    Ok... back to the point... :D
    It seems the southbridge of the first PS3 superslim models is exactly the same than all the PS3 Slims, is named CXD9963GB
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/South_Bridge#Chipnumbers_.40_SKU.27s
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/CXD9963GB

    Sadly there is not a table in wiki with the pinout of it
    In wiki there is this photo where can be seen the pads under the southbridge (this is usefull to try to imagine where are connected... and to verify it with a multimeter)
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/File:CXD9963GB-desoldered-form-JSD001.jpg
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/File:CXD9963GB-SB-GRID-bw-chipview.png

    And this posts from littlebalup where he was looking at it... because someone "destroyed" the tristate pad with a solder iron, so they was trying to find an alternative point to solder on it... and while doing that they had to "follow the copper trace" to an intermediate "hole" in the motherboard (also known as "via") where the trace goes to the other side of the motherboard
    That "via" of the photo seems to match with the other photo of wiki (where the southbridge was removed)... and it seems to be connected to the southbridge pin U2
    https://www.psx-place.com/threads/ps3-brick-tristate-point-fell-with-solder.21326/#post-145203
    https://prnt.sc/lggnrs

    Is very hard to verify all this by yourself (and for everyone), to be completly sure is needed to "follow the traces" in different PS3 motherboards, and are needed photos of the traces under the southbridges (so is needed to remove them)
    But sometimes this kind of things can be identifyed with lot of patience by looking at the photos... we are lucky there is one photo in wiki with the southbridge removed
    And it looks littlebalup took his time in looking at this in the best way posible, and it seems he was looking at it time ago... so yeah the chances for him to be right are high :)

    You can try to review what he is saying by looking at the photos and your motherboard, but most probably at the end is going to be mostly a matter of trying it... or not trying it
    I guess you are not going to find a relliable proof (neither me) to know if what he is saying is right or wrong before trying it because we dont have enought info
     
    Leon120081, littlebalup and Sdw100 like this.
  18. 7
    1
    7
    Some1fromthedark

    Some1fromthedark Forum Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, I am attempting to install cfw on my ps3 for the first time. I installed the 4.8.2 HFW twice, then created a dump of my NOR memory.
    Then I used the NOR writer to write the hex file (I did check the md5 hash).
    Then I dumped my memory a second time and used the pyPS3checker and discovered it had a danger:

    ******* Checking repetitions *******
    Header Magic0 Repetitions : OK
    Header Magic1 Repetitions : DANGER!
    Following data expected at offset 0xF00010 :
    > 00 00 00 00 0F AC E0 FF 00 00 00 00 DE AD FA CE
    Repetition(s) found at offset(s) :
    0xF00810

    . . .

    ******* Checks completed *******
    Total number of checks = 156
    Number of dangers = 1
    Number of warnings = 0
    Following check(s) returned a DANGER!
    repcheck : Header Magic1 Repetitions


    I checked my original NOR dump in the pyPS3checker and it also has this error. Is this normal or am I boned?

    I asked about this on the Discord server and was pointed to this thread. I was told to mention @littlebalup
     
  19. 39
    5
    7
    Xploiting

    Xploiting Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey Guys

    Ok so i have managed to unbrick a slim 3003B usung an E3... Everything went well I thought, untill I powered up the PS3.
    Before the flash the machone wpuld power down after a couple of seconds due to the brick. Now the machine starts up BUT there is no display and the only way to shut down is to hold the power button for about 10 seconds or remover the power cable.
    100% good flash, removed the tristate solder, reconnected everything! Now im stumped. Any ideas?
     
  20. 712
    167
    72
    Sdw100

    Sdw100 Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ENGINEER
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
Tags:

Share This Page