PS3 I bricked my PS3 :( what to do

Discussion in 'General PS3 Discussion' started by brickwhy, May 11, 2018.

  1. 4
    0
    5
    amanh787

    amanh787 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    what to do if i cant check check my dump an in pyps3 it shows the system cannot find the specified path

    and i wanted to mention that the exploit initialization was a success but the dump took lots of time but sucess wasnt shown but on checking the usb found the dump there so is it safe to continue

    could someone check my dump
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 16, 2019
  2. 1,510
    1,618
    297
    pink1

    pink1 Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    If you have an older system with nand flash it takes some time to dump the flash chips. if you never got the success message it's very possible it wasn't finished yet.
    For PyPS3checker it sounds like it may be a problem with python using the standalone version of PyPS3checker may fix your problem.
     
  3. 4
    0
    5
    amanh787

    amanh787 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    it is nor and i tried repeatedly switchng it on and off and i waited for a long time btw if i dont want a backup can i skip this step
     
  4. 1,510
    1,618
    297
    pink1

    pink1 Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Are you at the part where you make a dump of the flash after patching? If so the reason for making a dump and checking it before rebooting is to prevent any bricks. If you have already patched the nor then turned the system off and it still boots then it's not a problem to skip it.
     
  5. 4
    0
    5
    amanh787

    amanh787 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    what do u mean by patch i just pressed initialize exploitation which was a success then while i tried dumping nor it didnt show sucess but rather when i checked my usb found the dump file btw i just following steps mentioned in
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2019
  6. 7,843
    6,517
    647
    bguerville

    bguerville Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7,843
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Trophy Points:
    647
    Location:
    Earth
    Skip our official instructions & use YT vids at your own risk!
     
    Berion likes this.
  7. 5,001
    4,430
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    Let me add another suggestion :)

    If someobody have some doubt or problem about the procedures shown in a video... then go ask to the person that uploaded the video !
    Youtube allows to write comments in the videos... thats where you should write your doubts about the video, not here because we dont know the video or care about watching it
     
    Berion, DeViL303, PattrickH and 2 others like this.
  8. 8
    3
    7
    GalacticWarrior

    GalacticWarrior Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello anyone please help me out so at first i was on rebug 4.82 cex then i converted it into dex and after that i tried installing 4.82 ita dex cfw and when the installation was complete when i booted up my ps3 it gave me the yellow light of death. im pretty sure it was because i forgot to turn on QA flag while downgrading to 4.75 ita or maybe the firmware is corrupted and ways i can fix this or do i have to fix it by using a e3 flash.
     
  9. 2,520
    1,175
    297
    Cypher_CG89

    Cypher_CG89 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,520
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Lead Graphic Artist/Dev, VENOM ELITE GAMING
    Location:
    North East, England, UK
    Why install ITA DEX and you were on DEX when REBUG in DEX does the same thing but better? `\:confused:/`
     
    DeViL303 and n00b like this.
  10. 702
    236
    72
    ISAK.M

    ISAK.M Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Well, School
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah that doesn't make any sense o_O
     
    jjg0915 likes this.
  11. 702
    236
    72
    ISAK.M

    ISAK.M Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Well, School
    Location:
    Sweden
    Most likely a thing for an E3 Flaher yes or it's maybe cause of a "natural death" of the system that has nothing to do with the FW
    Maybe it was just a coincidence that it happened just that exact second :rolleyes:
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  12. 1,118
    1,116
    272
    littlebalup

    littlebalup Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1,116
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Location:
    43°36'16.0"N 1°26'36.1"E
    Yes, you'll need E3.
    Then there are many way to fix your dump, depending if you already have a CEX backup, your ERK, or even by using a DEX coreOS.
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  13. 8
    3
    7
    GalacticWarrior

    GalacticWarrior Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    What if i dont have a dump is there any way i can fix it still using an e3 flasher
     
  14. 1,510
    1,618
    297
    pink1

    pink1 Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes you should just need to make a dump with the E3 flasher & use it to fix your ps3.
     
  15. 8
    3
    7
    GalacticWarrior

    GalacticWarrior Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    @pink1 even tho my firmware is corrupted would i still be able to make a valid dump with an e3 flasher ?
     
  16. 6,388
    7,317
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    6,388
    Likes Received:
    7,317
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    That is hard to answer, It depends on exactly which bit is corrupt, Think about it like this, maybe like 99.9% of your dump is not very important, what I mean by that is you can replace it with dump from another console and it will be fine, but you need to get that 0.1% (Console specific info) from your own console perfectly or it will never boot again, so if your complete dump is randomly corrupted in some places, maybe you could be lucky and still get your console specific info from it, hard to know until you dump it.

    I would guess that as you only installed a PUP rather than messed up with a flasher, and that PUP completed installation, then there is a good chance your console specific information is still ok, but of course its not 100%..
     
  17. 1,336
    889
    197
    psykosis

    psykosis Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    889
    Trophy Points:
    197
    If your firmware is corrupted, the e3 flasher will make an absolute perfect copy of your corrupted data in its entirety.
     
    DeViL303 likes this.
  18. 6,388
    7,317
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    6,388
    Likes Received:
    7,317
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Yes, you are right, to answer his question exactly , if his firmware is corrupted then there is 100% no chance to get 100% valid dump from that chip.

    but I guess that really what he wanted to know is can he fix his PS3 by dumping it with flasher, and the answer to that is hard to say and could be yes or no.
     
  19. 5,001
    4,430
    472
    sandungas

    sandungas Moderator Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Location:
    Babylon 20xxE series
    The problem is he was messing around with eEID (for the CEX to DEX conversion), and at that point the eEID could became corrupted

    Incase is corrupted and you dont have a copy of the original (neither the EID root key to try to decrypt it in PC for repair purposes) i guess is a game over
     
    ISAK.M and DeViL303 like this.
  20. 6,388
    7,317
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    6,388
    Likes Received:
    7,317
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Yeah, amount of people who mess up their consoles over the years with DEX, most of them don't even need it in first place, getting info from youtube, or they do it for some COD mod, what a waste of consoles just to cheat in games.. I suppose it serves em right if thats why they did it, haha. One less cheater.

    In this case though if he successfully was on DEX in rebug, then bricked through firmware update, does that not mean he has good chance of recovering? I mean the PUP should not have over written any console specific info should it, or at least it wouldn't normally?
     

Share This Page