PS3 CFW SPY 4.85 Cobra 8.01 R1

A Cobra CFW for 4.85 by DarkSpy

  1. 4
    1
    7
    Ted Hawn

    Ted Hawn Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    great work, thank you .

    The stability is a really nice change
     
    Filipe Santos likes this.
  2. 551
    229
    47
    Filipe Santos

    Filipe Santos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    229
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Passionate Retro Bastard/Musician
    Location:
    Northern Ireland/UK/Ps3 Scene
    Home Page:
    Damn right it is I'm waiting for my new slim soon as I'm popping spycobra in it.
     
  3. 12
    5
    32
    Viggen66

    Viggen66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    I have latest rebug fw on my ps3 slim, really care less of someone reputation or of a specific group, all I want is stability and probably will install this firmware, what is the easiest way, go to recovery mode and install through there?

    My ps3 is a jailbroken model, so is just install this new firmware over older ones and go?

    Thanks
     
  4. 1,403
    956
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, just install it from System Update on the XMB, no need for recovery menu. If you've not already toggled your QA flag with Rebug Toolbox, I'd suggest doing so beforehand so that if you want to install an earlier firmware you can go back as you please.
     
  5. 12,159
    4,912
    497
    pinky

    pinky Bitsiboo's Other Half Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    12,159
    Likes Received:
    4,912
    Trophy Points:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Great Gig in the Sky
    yeah, lol. that's how badly sony screwed up.
     
  6. 12
    5
    32
    Viggen66

    Viggen66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Why do I need to QA Flag? Never heard of it, what is the purpose?
     
  7. 1,403
    956
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
  8. 1
    1
    7
    BomberManMD

    BomberManMD Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Sry for my english...
    I have CECHC console, after update SPY COBRA, PS2 games stopped working from disk, black screen and console freeze, same with image games. I remember CFW uses PS2 emulation classic, how can i switch to HW mode?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    sandungas likes this.
  9. 12
    5
    32
    Viggen66

    Viggen66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Was looking on the menus and QA Flag is embedded on rebug itself, alright gonna do as coldheart2236 suggested, rebug has so many stuff I never use, was looking for a simple firmware.
     
  10. 1,403
    956
    197
    Coldheart2236

    Coldheart2236 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Toggling the QA flag on will be useful if you upgrade to 4.85 CFW (only Spy with Cobra 8.1 integrated, like Rebug, is available for 4.85 at the moment) and then want to install a lower firmware version. Without the QA token applied, you cannot install a lower firmware version, even with the recovery menu.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
    Louis Garry and Algol like this.
  11. 12
    5
    32
    Viggen66

    Viggen66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Coldheart.

    Already installed this cfw, I had qa flag disabled on rebug, had to enable and installed the fw.

    This is precisely the firmware I like simple without fancy menus and submenus which I dont care and never will use it, just install and play.

    Tried some games no issues, smooth, bug free, congratulations for the persons or person who did this firmware.

    Thanks
     
  12. 116
    91
    82
    SpyroMancer

    SpyroMancer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Everything worked fine with this cfw. all isos are working. Some other cfw's had a problem with psx games mounted through irisman and reported something like psx data storage not enough. With this one they work just fine.

    What's new in psp launcher? since it's called new psp launcher?
     
  13. 1
    0
    5
    3mam4me

    3mam4me Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello everyone!
    I've installed CFW SPY 4.85 Cobra 8.1 on my PS3 Slim console, but I have a problem.

    I just wanna downgade to REBUG 4.84.2 but system say's that file is corrupted after reboot.
    I've toggled QA Flag in 4.85, also check MD5 from REBUG update file - and was OK.

    Can someone help me with that?
     
  14. 1,570
    994
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    Did you set System Debug Update option to ON in Debug Settings ?

    20191012_135247.jpg
     
  15. 7,135
    8,464
    797
    DeViL303

    DeViL303 Developer PSX-Place Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7,135
    Likes Received:
    8,464
    Trophy Points:
    797
    Occupation:
    Part-Time XMB Modder
    Location:
    Ireland
    Just to let you know, I think you quoted the wrong post by mistake. :)

    He asked about how he should update his cfw, recovery or XMB, and instead of answering him you decided to shit on Sony in an unrelated way.
     
    Louis Garry likes this.
  16. 2
    0
    5
    kdman61

    kdman61 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, I'm fairly new to the jailbreaking scene, especially when it comes to the PS3.

    I've jailbroken my fat PS3 (CECHE01), and all my flashdumps, MD5 checks and PyPS3 checks turned out fine. I've just installed the 4.85 Spy Cobra CFW. After I installed MultiMAN (or any other pkg files for that matter) and open it, the PS3 ends up showing just a blank black screen. Any advice on what I can do to fix this, or did I mess something up during the installation process?
     
  17. 7,608
    5,759
    872
    kozarovv

    kozarovv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    5,759
    Trophy Points:
    872
    Home Page:
    Sounds like broken or disconnected BD drive.
     
    kdman61 likes this.
  18. 1,754
    1,227
    297
    Naked_Snake1995

    Naked_Snake1995 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,754
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    NEC/TOKIN wants to know your location
    The Emulator will be picked regarding with the Hardware detected within the console itself, by default if you own a Hardware Based Backwards Compatible PlayStation3, the Emulation method will be set to Hardware, you can force-switch it to Software with Rebug Toolbox, for that you'll need to be on Rebug Firmware.

    4.85 CFWs somehow break that PlayStation2 Compatibility regarding of the Emulation used and model, the Emulation SELF files seems to be present with the Firmware, but it seems the System can't load them, even on Overflow or Spy, the reports are the same.

    For that you'll have to Downgrade to Rebug or Ferrox 4.84 or below, to restore PlayStation2 Playback, as 4.84 doesn't break the Compatibility, you'll have to QA Flag the machine for that, for Spy and Overflow use Habib's Standalone QA Toggle from Brewology, Rebug Toolbox QA Flag won't work, as its only Compatible with Rebug Firmwares.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
    Algol likes this.
  19. 2
    0
    5
    kdman61

    kdman61 Forum Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    You're right. My console accepts discs and shows a blue light, but does not read them - either Blu-Ray or regular discs. (Strangely enough, that happened right after an update, but I digress).

    I wasn't aware that the jailbreak required a functioning disc drive in order to work. I pretty much installed it in the hope of bypassing the and getting some use out of the PS3 instead of letting it sit unused. Any other suggestions, aside from sending it out for repairs?
     
  20. 1,570
    994
    222
    Louay

    Louay Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    College Student,GAMING,REPAIRING,XMB Modder
    Location:
    Tunisia
    Home Page:
    Its doesn't need to be a functionning BlueRay Drive only the logicboard need to be work so the ps3 know BD Drive is there even if lens are dead
     

Share This Page